Michigan State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 40 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Michigan Course Hours Offered: 40 hours
Step 1: Meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on Michigan Board of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons (LARA) website.
- Must be at least 18 years old
- You must pass background check and be of good moral character. This implies that you have the ability and will serve the public in a fair, honest, and open manner. If you have had a judgement of guilt in a criminal proceeding or a civil action against you, you are rehabilitated, or the substance of my former offense is not reasonably related to the occupation or profession for which you are seeking a license application.
Step 2: Meet the state’s pre-licensing education requirement. You’ll be required to complete an approved 40-hour Michigan real estate pre-licensing education which includes 4 hours of Civil Rights law and Equal Opportunity in housing.
Step 3: Submit the Michigan salesperson license application and pay applicable fee.
Step 4: You must pass the required State and National Exam within one year of application after receiving authorization to test from LARA. You’ll need to earn a score of 70% or higher.
Step 5: Obtain sponsorship from a licensed Michigan broker. You will need to provide your employing broker information to complete the licensure process. This can be completed online by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus
Note: Effective August 25th, 2020 Real Estate Salesperson exam candidates will no longer receive a Michigan Real Estate Exam Candidate (MIRE) email from the Bureau of Professional Licensing. An email would be directly sent from our testing provider, PSI Online, that contains their Exam Candidate ID number. Exam candidates are to check their SPAM Mail folders if they do not receive the mail in their Inbox within 24-48 hours after approval.
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Michigan Real Estate License?
It depends on how fast you can complete the approved 40-hour pre-licensing course work and pass your licensing examination. It also depends on the time it takes you to find a sponsoring broker, complete the application process and processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Michigan?
All Agent Real Estate Schools’ Courses are approved by Michigan Board of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Michigan Real Estate License Exam.
LARA School #564
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 1 year from the start date to complete the 40-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons course.
The required courses within the 40 hours include:
- Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals course
- Includes at least 4 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing.
- Real Estate Practices
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Michigan?
Becoming a real estate agent in Michigan requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $600 (minus their enrollment fee through our 100% Reimbursement Program) to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599. At Agent Real Estate Schools, we offer a 100% Reimbursement Program, ask us about it!
- Exam fees run $79.
- License fees for an agent cost up to $88.
Unlike most states, Michigan has a tiered application fee. What you pay depends on what year it is in the 3-year licensing cycle. For example, if it is the first year of the 3-year licensing cycle you’ll pay $88, and your license will be good for three years. But if it’s the second year of the licensing cycle you’ll pay $62, and your license will be good for two years.
- Required fingerprints will cost $49.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
No. Michigan does not offer reciprocity with any other state. An applicant for Michigan Real Estate Salesperson or Broker license must meet education, experience, and examination requirements in place as of the date the application is submitted.
How Do I Submit My Michigan Salesperson Application?
Michigan has transitioned to a new system (MiPLUS). Within 36 months of completing the pre-licensure course and prior to taking the exam, salesperson candidates must apply for their license online on MiPLUS. The application is valid for 1 year from the date of receipt.
As stated earlier, you are required to have a licensed individual broker or broker company sponsor you to become licensed. After passing the Real Estate Salesperson exam, you will need to provide your employing broker information to complete the licensure process. This can be completed online by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus, selecting “MiPlus Login, selecting “Modification” next to your application number, and entering your employing broker’s 10-digit license number. Brokers must go online to verify that an applicant is approved for employment by their office (this would be the same as signing the bottom of a salesperson’s paper application in the past). After the selected employing broker approves your request, your license will be issued, and you will be notified via email.
How Do I Take the Michigan Salesperson Licensing Examination?
The salesperson examinations must be taken through LARA. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. Agent Real Estate Schools offers both a livestream Group Study Course and a study at your own pace online Fast Track Course. Additionally, we offer Prep Practice Course which will help you prepare for the California real estate licensing exam. Pass your California real estate license exam and ask us about our, 100% Reimbursement Program.
48 hours after your application is approved, you will receive an email from the State of Michigan notifying you of your authorization to register for the licensing exam administered by PSI. The email will contain a 6-digit Exam Candidate ID number that you will need to schedule your exam as well as instructions for contacting PSI directly to register. Register for and pass both the state and national portions of the salesperson’s exam through PSI within 1 year from submitting your license application.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you must submit one set of fingerprints, acceptable to the State Department of Justice (DOJ). An applicant may be fingerprinted after applying for the state exam or after passing the exam.
Fingerprint processing fees are not refunded if you do not pass the examination.
Note: Your Social security number is required on the examination application to ensure fingerprint reports are received by LARA.
Fingerprints must be submitted electronically through the DOJ’s Live Scan Program with a Live Scan Service Request Form. Your original real estate license will not be issued until a report from the DOJ and the FBI is received stating that there is no criminal history, or alternatively a disclosure of criminal history information is present, which then must be reviewed and evaluated. There is a $49 fingerprint processing fee and a live scan service fee which should be paid directly to the live scan provider.
Michigan Real Estate License Renewal
Michigan real estate licenses are good for three years.
Application Fee + 3-year license fee:
- New Application: $88.00
- Renewal Application: $78.00
- Relicensure Application (expired license): $108.00
Online application can be completed by visiting www.michigan.gov/miplus.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA)
Address: Ottawa Building, 611 W. Ottawa P.O. Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909