Florida State Required Education Hours: 63 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Florida Course Hours Offered: 63 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate license in Florida, you have to meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate.
- You must be 18 years of age and above
- You must have a US Social Security Number high school diploma or its equivalent. You may visit the Social Security Administration website for information on how to obtain one.
Step 2: Complete the Florida approved 63-hour pre-license courses for sales associates.
Step 3: Successfully pass the licensing exam, earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 4: You must pay the required fee as provided in the application.
Step 5: Submit your fingerprints to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement for a background check.
Step 6: You can then proceed to complete your application.
Step 7: You are required to complete the 45-hour broker post-licensing course.
Note: You may be exempt from the required 63 hours of coursework if you hold a 4-year degree, or higher, in real estate. Military veterans, their wives and Florida National Guard members may be eligible for an application fee waiver, fee reimbursement, and/or fee discount. Please visit our DBPR Military Services page for more information.
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Florida Real Estate License?
The time taken to get a Florida real estate license varies, depending on the pace in which you complete the 63 hours of education and pass your licensing examination. It also depends on the time it takes you to find a sponsoring, complete the application process, and background check processing times and the time it takes you to complete 45-hour post-licensing course.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Florida?
Once you complete your courses, you are eligible to sit for the Alaska Real Estate License Exam.
You have a window of 1 year from the start date to complete the 40-hour coursework for the real estate salesperson license course.
The required courses within the 40 hours include:
- Real estate law
- Types of interest and ownership in real estate
- Legal description
- Home ownership and more
Note: It is also important to note that Alaska state education certificates are only valid for 18 months.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Florida?
Becoming a real estate agent in Florida requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $770 (minus their enrollment fee through our 100% Reimbursement Program) to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Coursework can run up to $599. At Agent Real Estate Schools, we offer a 100% Reimbursement Program, ask us about it!
- Exam fees run $36.75.
- Application fees for a license cost $83.75.
- Required fingerprints will cost $48.05.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Florida does have reciprocity with certain states.
These states are:
- Rhode Island
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You must be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
- You must not be a Florida state resident as at time of application for licensure
- You must have met the education and examination requirements of the state with which Florida has reciprocity.
- If you apply for Florida licensure from a state that has reciprocity agreement with Florida, you will need to take and pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination as well as be required to complete the 45-hour post-license education.
How Do I Apply for and take the Florida Real Estate License Exam?
The salesperson examinations must be taken through the Florida Department of Real Estate. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. Agent Real Estate Schools offers both a live online webinar Group Study Course and a study at your own pace online Fast Track Course. Additionally, we offer Prep Practice Course which will help you prepare for the Florida real estate licensing exam. Pass your Florida real estate license exam and ask us about our 100% Reimbursement Program.
The examination is delivered by Pearson Vue. You can visit their website learn more if you need more information on where to find a location near you to set up your exam once the application has been approved by the DBPR. The Candidate Information Booklet is a useful source to help guide you through the examination process.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
You can submit your fingerprints using a Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) approved Livescan Service Provider.
You are required to submit the fingerprints at least 5 days before submitting your application for licensure. This is important because it gives FDLE enough time to process your fingerprints and submit the results to the Department. If your fingerprint results are not received by the FDLE at the time your application is being processed, your application will be deemed incomplete.
How Do I Submit My Florida Real Estate License Application?
You must submit proof of pre-licensing course completion, along with a passing score on the state licensing exam and submission of fingerprints. Once submitted you can apply for their real estate license through the DPBR Online Services portal.
Florida Real Estate License Renewal
Real estate renewal date is between 18 and 24 months after you receive your initial Florida Real Estate License.
You will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education to renew you real estate broker license.
- Florida Core Law (3 Hours)
- Real Estate and Business Ethics (3 Hours)
- Specialty Credit (8 Hours)
Does Florida Require Post-Licensing Education?
You are required to complete a 45-hour post-licensing course after successfully passing the sales-associate licensure examination. You must earn a score of not less than 75% to pass the final exam for post-licensing examination according to the Florida Division of Real Estate. You will be allowed to attempt the exam twice. If you fail the final exam on two separate occasions, you will need to re-enroll and begin the whole process again.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate
Address: 400 West Robinson Street, N801, Orlando, FL 32801
Florida License Lookup Website