California State Required Education Hours: 225 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools California Course Hours Offered: 225 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a Broker license in California, you must meet all the state’s requirements. To start with, you must meet the state’s Broker Pre-Licensing Education Requirements as outlined on the California Department of Real Estate website.
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be honest and transparent about past criminal record(s) as most states require background check or a criminal history report as part of your application. If you decide to lie or refuse to admit to being a past felon, you can be rejected or have your real estate license revoked later. Transparency and honesty show your state's commission that you can be trusted, and this can go a long way to demonstrate that you truly deserve a chance in the real estate Industry. Also, a minimum of two years full-time licensed salesperson experience within the last five years or the equivalent is required. For more information, please review this form: https://www.dre.ca.gov/examinees/requirementsbroker.html
Step 2: Proceed to complete the required 225 hours of broker education course.
Step 3: Proceed to apply for the broker examination.
Step 4: Submit your fingerprints for a criminal background check.
Step 5: Pass the California broker licensing exam by earning a score of at least 75 percent.
Step 6: Complete the Employment verification forms to verify experience.
Step 7: Proceed to Submit completed Broker License application.
How Long Does It Take to Get a California Broker License?
The time taken to get a California broker license varies, depending on the pace in which you complete the 225 hours of education and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process, and application and background check processing times. Please keep in mind you must have experience as a practicing real estate agent for at least 2 years.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Broker License in California?
All Agent Real Estate Schools’ Courses are approved by California Department of Real Estate. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the California Broker License Exam.
DRE Sponsor IDS0665
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 1 year from the start date to complete the 225-hour coursework for broker course.
The required courses within the 225 hours include:
- Real Estate Practice
- Legal Aspects of Real Estate
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Real Estate Economics or Accounting*
One course from the following list:
- Real Estate Principles
- Business Law
- Property Management
- Real Estate Office Administration
- Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
- Advanced Legal Aspects of Real Estate
- Advanced Real Estate Finance
- Advanced Real Estate Appraisal
- Computer Applications in Real Estate
- Common Interest Developments
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in California?
Becoming a real estate broker in California requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring broker will spend up to $800 to get their license, while also spending an additional $245–$360 annually to keep their license active.
How these costs break down:
- Coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fees run $60.
- License fees for a broker cost $300.
- Required fingerprints will cost $49.
- Other miscellaneous fees can run upward of $240, where applicable.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
California does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states, nor does if offer a waiver of any of the requirements to obtain a license. Brokers must maintain a California business address if engaging in business in California. If not engaging in business in California, brokers must also file an Out-of-State Broker Acknowledgement.
When applying for the broker exam, evidence of completion of the statutory courses (from the out-of-state institution) is acceptable only if the institution is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges or a comparable regional accrediting entity.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- File a Consent to Service of Process with the DRE. This form must be completed, signed, notarized, and submitted to the DRE with the original or renewal application.
- Submit their fingerprints directly to the DRE. A fingerprint card will be provided with the original license application. It should be taken to a local law enforcement agency for completion.
- Submit the appropriate fingerprint fee with the completed fingerprint card, original license application, and license fee to the DRE.
How Do I Apply for The California Broker Licensing Exam?
The broker examinations must be taken through the California Department of Real Estate. The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. Agent Real Estate Schools offers a Broker Licensing Course.
You will need to complete a Broker Examination Application and submit it along with the required fee and transcripts showing successful completion of the statutory college-level real estate courses and degrees.
Applicants must document experience requirements for the broker examination through one of the following methods:
- Obtaining a transcript to verify a degree earned from an accredited four-year college or university which included a major or minor in real estate.
- Completing Employment Verification forms to verify licensed salesperson experience.
- forms to verify non-licensed real estate-related experience.
Once you receive notification that you have qualified to take your exam, you’ll either receive an Examination Schedule Notice or approval to self-schedule. You can use the eLicensing online system to check your exam date or to self-schedule.
Exams are offered in five cities in California:
- Los Angeles
- San Diego
If you are not qualified at the time, you submit your application and fee, you will have 2 years from the date of receipt of the application to complete the qualifications and take the exam. If during that 2-year period, you do not qualify for and pass the exam your application will expire, and you will need to submit a new application. The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate broker license, you must submit one set of fingerprints, acceptable to the State Department of Justice (DOJ). An applicant may be fingerprinted after applying for the state exam or after passing the exam.
Fingerprint processing fees are not refunded if you do not pass the examination.
Note: Your Social security number is required on the examination application to ensure fingerprint reports are received by the DRE.
Fingerprints must be submitted electronically through the DOJ’s Live Scan Program with a Live Scan Service Request Form. Your original real estate license will not be issued until a report from the DOJ and the FBI is received stating that there is no criminal history, or alternatively a disclosure of criminal history information is present, which then must be reviewed and evaluated. There is a $49 fingerprint processing fee and a live scan service fee which should be paid directly to the live scan provider.
How Do I Submit My California Broker Application?
Those who pass the exam will be sent a Broker License Application. This form must be completed and returned along with the appropriate fee within 1-year of passing the exam. The completed Live Scan Service Request must be submitted with the application. A license cannot be issued until DRE receives fingerprint response information.
California Broker License Renewal
California broker licenses are good for four years, and the state will notify you within 60 days of your renewal. Renewal fees will run you $300 annually.
Does California Require Post-Licensing Education?
California real estate brokers who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 45 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
If you are an attorney who is a member in good standing of the California State Bar, then you are exempt from some of the requirements to become a licensed real estate agent.
You are not exempt from the two years of real estate experience required of broker applicants, but that experience does not necessarily have to be in real estate sales. You can have other types of experience, such as practicing real estate law, might be deemed acceptable. Decisions are made on a case-by-case basis.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
California Department of Real Estate
Address: 1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815