Wisconsin State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 72 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Wisconsin Course Hours Offered: 72 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: Complete the required 72-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the Wisconsin Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher.
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Obtain a sponsoring broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 6: Submit your application for a Wisconsin real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by DSPS.
Step 7: Complete 18 hours of continuing education.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Wisconsin Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 72 hours of pre-licensing courses and 18 hours of continuing education. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Wisconsin?
All courses are approved the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Wisconsin Salesperson Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by Wisconsin state) to finish the required 72 hours.
The required courses within the 72 hours include:
- Principles of Real Estate
- Real Estate Laws
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Wisconsin?
Becoming a real estate agent in Wisconsin requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $760.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Application Fee: $75.
- Exam fees run $65.
- Proctoring fee: $15.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Wisconsin Reciprocity has agreements with select states.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- If you’ve held an active salesperson license in another state other than Illinois or Indiana for at least two years within the last four years, you’re required to take the 13 hours of sales education before taking the state exam.
How Do I Apply for The Wisconsin Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The salesperson exam must be taken through Person VUE. To schedule your exam, first create your free account through the Pearson VUE website.
Once your account is created, you can select your exam date and location. You can also schedule your exam by calling Pearson VUE at (888)204-6284. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. For more information on how to schedule your exam, you can refer to the Candidate Handbook.
Note: Fees paid to the DSPS do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to Pearson VUE.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
The Application for Predetermination goes to DSPS.
How Do I Take the Wisconsin Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The Wisconsin real estate salesperson exam is divided into two parts.
- Part 1: National Exam
- Part 1: State Exam
The overall exam consists of 145–150 multiple-choice questions with a 4-hour time-limit. Salesperson licensing exams in Wisconsin are administered by Pearson VUE exams at Pearson VUE. Once a student completes the exam, they will receive a score report at the testing center, which is either marked “pass” or “fail”. Students can retake the exam as many times as needed until they pass.
How Do I Submit My Wisconsin Real Estate License Application?
License applications should be submitted online through the Online Licensure Application System (OLAS).
A paper version of the license application can also be mailed to the Department.
You will need to attach some items alongside your application.
- You must submit a copy of your Certificate of Completion from the 72-hour pre-license course.
- Proof of payment of the license application fee.
- Proof of obtaining sponsorship from a Wisconsin Broker. Your sponsoring broker must complete their portion of the license application, which confirms the applicant’s employment with the broker.
Note: License applications must be submitted within 1 year of passing the state exam and within 5 years of completing the pre-license course. If you are not a resident of Wisconsin, you must submit an Irrevocable Consent For Nonresidents form along with your license application.
Can You Apply for Wisconsin Real Estate License Online?
You can apply for your license online using the Online Licensure Application System (OLAS). You can also mail your paper application to the department. For more information, visit here.
Wisconsin Real Estate License Renewal
Renewal periods are from 12/15-even year- 12/14/even year with a renewal cost of $82.
Does Wisconsin Require Post-Licensing Education?
You must complete 18 hours of continuing education which includes six, three-hour modules with specific course content.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Wisconsin Real Estate Commission
4822 Madison Yard Way
Madison, WI 53705