Virginia State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 60 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Virginia Course Hours Offered: 60 hours
Step 1: Meet Virginia real estate license requirements as outlined by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation Real Estate Board.
- You must be 18 years and above.
- You must Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
Step 2: Successfully complete the required 60-hour pre-licensing course for salesperson at an institution approved by the Virginia Real Estate Board.
Step 3: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Submit your application for a Virginia real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by Real Estate Board.
Step 6: Complete 30 hours of post-license education.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Virginia Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person, how long it takes to get a Virginia real estate license depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 60 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, and the application processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Virginia?
All courses are approved by Virginia Real Estate Board. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Virginia Real Estate License Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, as required by Virginia state, to finish the required 60 hours.
You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor before the commencement of your exam as required by the state.
The required courses within the 60 hours include:
- Virginia License Law
- National Math Module
- License Law and Math Practice Exam
- National Ownership
- National Brokerage
- National Finance
- National Valuation
Note: After passing the final course exam you will need to sign an affidavit to confirm your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Virginia?
Becoming a real estate agent in Virginia requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $900.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Virginia real estate license exam: $60
- Fingerprinting and background check: $52
- License application fee: $150
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Virginia does offer reciprocity with select states.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You must have a current salesperson license in another Jurisdiction.
- You must register for the licensing exam by mail or fax. You must pass the state portion of the licensing examination.
- You must submit verification of completion of the 60-hour pre-license course.
- You will need to obtain and submit letters of certification from the state you are licensed.
Note: Licensure certification from other states must be dated less than 60 days from the time the completed application is received.
How Do I Apply for and take the Virginia Salesperson Licensing Examination?
The salesperson examinations must be taken through PSI. Your information will be sent to PSI at which point you will receive an email confirmation with instructions for paying and scheduling. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
You may register and schedule for an exam online 24 hours a day. You will be asked to select the examination and enter the ID number that Agent Real Estate Schools has submitted.
Note: Fees paid to the Virginia Real Estate Board do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI. Your completed application must be submitted within 12 months from the initial examination date when you originally took the examination.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints to the Virginia Central Criminal Records Exchange and complete a background check. Your fingerprints will be taken electronically at one of the PSI Virginia sites during regular testing hours.
Note: Your license application must be received by the Board within 45 days of the Board’s receipt of the fingerprint results. You will have to start the process and pay the fingerprinting fees again if you do not meet this deadline.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
You are required to have your fingerprints taken so Texas Department of public safety (DPS) can run a criminal background check. You can schedule a fingerprint appointment through MorphoTrust after receiving exam eligibility letter from TREC. You must pay the appropriate fingerprinting fees to this agency (MorphoTrust). You will need the TREC ID number from the eligibility letter when making your appointment. Pursuant to DPS requirements, you will be photographed as part of the fingerprint process.
Virginia Real Estate License Renewal
In Virginia all salespersons (who have renewed their license at least once before) are required to complete 16 hours of Board-approved Continuing Education courses to renew or activate their licenses.
- Ethics & Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
- Fair Housing (2 hours)
- Legal Updates and Emerging Trends (1 hour)
- Real Estate Agency (1 hour)
- Real Estate Contracts (1 hour)
You can renew your license online.
How Do I Submit My Virginia Salesperson Application?
Your completed application and fee must be received by the Commission within 12 months of passing the licensing examination. Some requirements must be met before a license can be issued.
- You are required to answer all questions.
- You must provide all the necessary documents and proof of payment of the appropriate fee.
- Your Background check must not be more than 45 days.
How Do I Take the Virginia Salesperson Licensing Examination?
The Virginia Real Estate Salesperson Exam is divided into two parts.
Part 1: National Exam
Part 2: State Exam
Salesperson licensing exams in Virginia are administered by PSI exams at www.psiexams.com but before registering you must first receive an eligibility notice from the Virginia Real Estate Board. You get this by submitting a Virginia Real Estate Salesperson application, proof of required education, and paying the application fee.
Does Virginia Require Post-Licensing Education?
For your license to be active, all salesperson licensees must complete an approved 30 hours of post-license education within 12 months from the last day of the month in which the license was issued.
The required courses within the 30 hours include:
- Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights (2 hours)
- Real Estate Law and Regulations (6 hours)
- Ethics and Standards of Conduct (3 hours)
- Current Industry Issues and Trends (2 hours)
- Agency Law (3 hours)
- Contract Writing (6 hours)
- Risk Management (3 hours)
- Escrow Requirements (3 hours)
- Real Estate-Related Finance (2 hours)
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation Real Estate Board
Address: 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 400 Richmond VA 23233