Texas State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 180 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Texas Course Hours Offered: 180 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate license (Sales Agent) in Texas, you must meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the Texas Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years of age and above
- You must be a legal US citizen
- You must meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity.
Step 2: Complete an approved 180 hours of Texas real estate pre-license education.
Step 3: Apply for licensure in Texas.
Step 4: You must submit your fingerprints for a criminal background check.
Step 5: Pass the State and National portion of exam.
Step 6: Find a sponsoring broker licensed in Texas. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 7: You will be required to complete 98 hours of SAE first time renewal education. Visit https://www.trec.texas.gov/become-licensed/sales-agent for more information.
Note: Before applying for the license, you must request a Fitness Determination Form if you have any criminal offenses or have performed unlicensed activity.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Texas Real Estate License?
It can take on average between 5 to 6 months to get a Texas real estate license depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 180 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, fingerprinting and the application processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Texas?
All courses are approved by Texas Real Estate Commission. Once completed you are eligible to sit for the Texas Sales agent Licensing Exam.
Once you start the education course at Agent Real Estate Schools, our policy is that you complete each course in the overall 180-hour Sales agent pre-licensing courses within 1 year of the start date.
The required courses within the 180 hours include:
- Principles of Real Estate I & II (60 hours)
- Law of Agency (30 hours)
- Law of Contracts (30 hours)
- Promulgated Contracts Forms (30 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (30 hours)
It is important to know that all courses include a final exam must be monitored by proctor and it can be by a faculty or staff member, or a third party disinterested party. You will need to acquire the services of these proctors. You can Reference Section 535.65(h) of TREC rules for more information.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Texas?
Becoming a real estate agent in Texas requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $1,000.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fees run $54.
- License fees for an agent cost $205.
- Required fingerprints will cost $39.
- Recovery Trust Fund $10.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
No. Texas does not have reciprocity with any state. To become licensed, you must satisfy all current Texas licensing requirements.
Can You Apply for a Texas Real Estate License Online?
The simple answer is Yes. You can apply for a Texas real estate license online through the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) using TREC's online licensing service.
How Do I Apply for the Texas Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The sales agent examinations must be taken through the national testing service contracted by TREC. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
The sales agent exam must be taken through Pearson Vue. After obtaining eligibility, candidates may make a reservation by either visiting www.pearsonvue.com or calling Pearson VUE at (800) 997-1248.
Before taking the exam, candidates must:
- Apply for a real estate license with the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) using TREC'S ONLINE LICENSING SERVICE.
- Complete all pre-licensing coursework.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
You are required to have your fingerprints taken so Texas Department of public safety (DPS) can run a criminal background check. You can schedule a fingerprint appointment through MorphoTrust after receiving exam eligibility letter from TREC. You must pay the appropriate fingerprinting fees to this agency (MorphoTrust). You will need the TREC ID number from the eligibility letter when making your appointment. Pursuant to DPS requirements, you will be photographed as part of the fingerprint process.
How Do I Submit My Texas Sales Agent Application?
To become a Sales Agent, you will be required to submit your application and proof of payment of the appropriate fee using TREC’s online portal. You will need to meet all license requirements a year form when your application is filed.
After meeting the licensing requirements, TREC will send you an eligibility letter which includes an ID number that you will need to register to take the licensing examination. You can Track the status of your application using TREC’s Application Status Tracker.
How Do I Take the Texas Real Estate Licensing Exam?
Texas partners with Pearson VUE to conduct the sales agent examination. After obtaining eligibility, candidates may make a reservation by either visiting www.pearsonvue.com or calling Pearson VUE at (800) 997-1248. You will be notified if you qualify for the examination and the exam eligibility notification will have specific instructions for contacting the exam administrator and obtaining a copy of the Candidate Handbook. The Candidate Handbook contains information about the examination, study material, and instructions for making an exam reservation. You will need to find a proctor that will monitor your licensing exam.
What Are the Texas Sales Agent Post-Licensing Requirements?
Sales Agents must complete an overall 90 hours of post licensing courses by the expiration of the initial licensing period which is 2 years.
The courses include:
- Texas Real Estate Marketing (30 hours)
- Texas Real Estate Brokerage (30 hours)
- Texas Real Estate Property Management (30 hours)
You must submit hours at least 10 days before the expiration of licensure to ensure no late fees or renewals.
Note: Agents renewing for the first time are not required to take the new 3-hour contract-related course requirement until next license renewal term.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Texas Real Estate Commission
Address: Texas Real Estate Commission P.O. Box 12188 Austin, TX 78711