South Carolina State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 90 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools South Carolina Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1: Meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.
- You must be 18 years of age and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED)
- You must be a Legal U.S citizen and be eligible to work
Step 2: You must complete the approved 60-hour Unit 1 Sales pre-licensing course before applying to take the exam.
Step 3: You must apply for exam eligibility.
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Successfully pass the state and national portions of the exam earning a score of not less than 70%.
Step 6: You must complete the approved 30-hour Unit II Advanced Real Estate Sales Principles pre-licensing course before applying for your license.
Step 7: You must obtain sponsorship from an active South Carolina real estate broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 8: Finalize your application for your South Carolina real estate license.
Note: If you hold a law degree or have received a degree from a university with a major course of study in real estate, see South Carolina Real Estate Commission for the education and examination requirements that would apply to you.
How long does it take to get a South Carolina Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person on how long it takes to get a South real estate license. It depends on how fast or slow you can complete both the required 60-hour Unit I Sales pre-licensing course and the Unit II Advanced Real Estate Sales Principles pre-licensing course. The time it takes to pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, and the application processing times will affect the overall time frame.
Note: Background checks can take up to 4 months.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in South Carolina?
All courses are approved by South Carolina Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the South Carolina Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 1 year from the start date to complete the Unit I Sales pre-licensing course and the Unit II Advanced Real Estate Sales Principles pre-licensing course. After taking the first 60-hour portion of your courses you can apply to take both State and National portions of exam. You will also be required to complete second 30-hour portion of your courses before you can apply for your real estate license.
The required courses within the 90 hours include:
- Real estate law and practice
- South Carolina contracts and regulations
- Knowledge regarding loans
- Current legal issues
- Real estate closings
- Property management
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in South Carolina?
Becoming a real estate agent in South Carolina requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $790.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fees run $63.
- Salesperson exam application fee is $$35 (includes $10 for credit check)
- License fees for an agent cost $25.
- Required fingerprints can run up to $65.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
South Carolina has full reciprocity with all states which means that anyone with an out-of-state real estate license will have the opportunity to expedite the South Carolina licensing process.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You will need to provide a verified license history from your Jurisdiction or State
- You must have been licensed for at least six months prior to your application.
- You must, apply for, take, and pass the South Carolina portion of the real estate examination.
- Resident applicant will also need to complete the 30 hours of Advanced Real Estate Principles (Unit II) education if they have been residents for more than 6 in other Jurisdictions in which they have their respective Licenses.
How Do I Apply for and take The South Carolina Real Estate License Exam?
The salesperson exam must be taken through the South Carolina Real Estate license exam through the South Carolina Real Estate Commission before scheduling your exam. Visit the commission’s online application portal if you want to apply for the exam. An email will be sent to you to confirm your eligibility. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
SCREC partners with PSI to conduct the licensing exams. Candidates must register for the licensing examination (both the state and national portions) online by accessing PSI’s registration website at www.psiexams.com
All candidates are encouraged to review the South Carolina Real Estate Examination Program Handbook before scheduling an appointment to take the state exam.
Note: You must take the exam within a period of 12 months from the start date which you applied as the eligibility lasts only a year.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
All applicants for a real estate license with the South Carolina Real Estate Commission will be required to obtain state and national fingerprint-based criminal records checks from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI).
You will be required to pay the fees used in conducting the background checks. After your application is reviewed, a specific South Carolina Real Estate Commission identifier will be provided along with instructions for your fingerprinting.
How Do I Submit My South Carolina Real Estate License Application?
Within 1 year of passing the exam, you must be sponsored by a broker and apply for you real estate license. Before submitting your application, you must meet one of the following education criteria:
- Completed the 60-hour Unit I: Salesperson qualifying course within the last 5 years. Applicant must also take Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principals 30-hour course prior to issuance of license)
- Hold a Bachelor of Law degree or hold a baccalaureate degree or master’s degree with a major in Real Estate. Be sure to provide official transcript from the institution.
- Be a non-resident and currently have an active or inactive salesperson or broker license in another state. Be sure to obtain a certification of licensure from your respective jurisdictions.
The license application is provided by PSI. You will need to attach some other documents when you submit your application.
- Proof of sponsorship from a licensed South Carolina broker
- Proof of Paying the appropriate fees of $50
- Exam score report
Can You Apply for a South Carolina Real Estate License Online?
Yes, you can apply for your South Carolina real estate license online through the South Carolina Labor and Licensing Regulation website.
South Carolina Real Estate License Renewal
South Carolina real estate licenses are good for 1 year. The annual period for renewal of your real estate license begins at midnight on May 15 and continues until June 30. The renewal fee is $45.00. Per Commission Rule 58A.0503, you must renew online at www.ncrec.gov. If you fail to renew on or before June 30, your license will EXPIRE. For more information click here.
Does South Carolina Require Post-Licensing Education?
South Carolina real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 10 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
South Carolina Real Estate Commission
Address: P.O. Box 11847, Columbia, SC 29211