Utah State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 120 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Utah Course Hours Offered: 120 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate license in Utah, you have to meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the Utah Division of Real Estate website.
- You must be 18 years of age and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent (GED)
- You must also not have had a felony in the last five years, or a misdemeanor involving fraud within the last three years, starting from the time of conviction or completion of any jail sentence.
Step 2: You must complete the required 120 hours of pre-licensing courses at an approved Institution.
Step 3: You must schedule, take, and pass the Utah State Salesperson licensing exam. You must earn a score of at least 70 percent in the exam.
Step 4: You must submit your fingerprints for a criminal background check.
Step 5: You must pay the required fees.
Step 6: You can then submit your sales agent license application.
Step 7: You will need to find a sponsoring broker licensed in the state. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
How Long Does It Take to Get a Utah Real Estate License?
It varies per person on how long it takes to get the license depending on fast you can complete the 120 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination. It also depends on the time it takes you to find a sponsoring broker, submit your fingerprints, and complete the application process and application processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Utah?
Once you complete your courses, you are eligible to sit for the Utah Salesperson Licensing Exam.
Once you start the education courses, you are required to complete the 120-hour salesperson pre-licensing course within 12 months of applying for your licensure as required by Utah.
The required courses within the 120 hours include:
- Real Estate Practices
- Real Estate Financing
- The Brokerage And Law Of Agency
- Property Management
- New Construction
- Federal And Utah Laws
- Licensing Requirements
- Disciplinary Procedures
Note: To be able to practice as a Utah real estate agent you will need to be hired by a sponsoring broker.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Utah?
Becoming a real estate agent Utah requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $1,200 (minus their enrollment fee through our 100% Reimbursement Program) to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599. At Agent Real Estate Schools, we offer a 100% Reimbursement Program, ask us about it!
- Exam fees run $60.
- License fees for an agent cost $245.
- Required fingerprints will cost $49.
- Other miscellaneous fees can run upward of $240, where applicable.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes. Utah offers reciprocity with some states.
- Alberta, Canada.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You will need a reciprocity application.
- You will need to obtain an original and certified license history for all jurisdictions or state where you previously held a license.
- You will need two fingerprint cards as a fingerprint waiver. Visit here for more information.
- You will need to pay a Sales Agent Licensing fee of $152 and provide evidence of payment.
- You must provide a Certificate of Legal Presence. Visit here for more information.
How Do I Apply for and take the Utah Real Estate Licensing Exam?
Utah partners with PearsonVUE to conduct the sales agent exam. To schedule an exam online, go to www.pearsonvue.com at least 24 hours before your desired date. You can also schedule your exam over the telephone by calling (801) 530-6747.
Agent Real Estate Schools offers both a live online webinar Group Study Course and a study at your own pace online Fast Track Course. Additionally, we offer Prep Practice Course which will help you prepare for the Utah real estate licensing exam. Pass your Utah real estate license exam and ask us about our 100% Reimbursement Program.
You will need to pay an exam fee of $59 directly to Pearson VUE. You must bring with you to the exam two forms of signature identification such as a state driver's license, military ID, or U.S. passport. Refer to the Utah Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
Starting January 1, 2020, all new applications for real estate licensees will need to obtain a fingerprint background check and enroll in Rap Back. Utah requires you submit your fingerprints to check your background history for criminal activities. The fee is $12.
You can schedule digital fingerprinting at Pearson VUE test centers in:
Note: The $12 fee is separate from the fee paid to the Utah Division of Real Estate. If your test center does not offer digital fingerprinting, the candidate will be issued two fingerprint cards. Use the services of a local law enforcement agency or third-party fingerprinting vendor. You’ll need to submit the cards to the Utah Division of Real Estate.
How Do I Submit My Utah Real Estate License Application?
You will be required to apply for your sales agent license 90 days after you successfully pass the state licensing exam. You will need to attach some required document when submitting your application.
- A Salesperson application
- A Qualifying questionnaire which is done at the test center.
- A Consent to Background Check
- A Certification of Legal Presence. This is also done at the test center
- A Candidate Education Certifying Document. Visit here for more information
The fee for the sales agent real estate salesperson license totals $157. It includes a $100 application fee, $12 recovery fund fee, $40 fingerprinting fee, and $5 FBI RAPBACK enrollment fee.
After meeting all the requirements, you can then submit your application at submit application.
Utah Real Estate License Renewal
Utah real estate licenses are good for 2 years. Renewal fees will run you $60.
- Complete your continuing education
- Enroll in the FBI RapBack Fingerprint System
- Renew your license by accessing your RELMS account
Does Utah Require Post-Licensing Education?
Utah real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 18 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Utah Division of Real Estate
Address: PO Box 146711
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6711
Phone: (801) 530-6747
E-Mail Address: email@example.com
Fax: (801) 530-6749