Louisiana State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 90 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Louisiana Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Louisiana Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: You must successfully complete the required 90-hour pre-licensing course for salesperson at an institution approved by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Submit your application Part A for a Louisiana real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by LREC.
Step 4: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 5: You must pass a criminal background check
Step 6: You must obtain and provide proof of Error & Omission Insurance. For more information visit LREC.
Step 7: Submit your application Part B for a Louisiana real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by LREC.
Step 8: Obtain a sponsoring broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 9: Complete 45 hours of post-licensing education.
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Louisiana Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 90 hours of pre-licensing courses and 45 hours of post-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Louisiana?
Once you complete your courses, you are eligible to sit for the Louisiana Salesperson Licensing Exam.
You have a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by Louisiana state) to finish the required 90 hours.
The required courses within the 90 hours include:
- Real Estate Principles/Practices
- Louisiana Real Estate License Law
- Commission Rules/Regulations
- Law of Agency
- Civil Law pertaining to real estate
Note: LREC may consider granting partial credit toward the pre-licensing requirement for courses completed more than five years prior to the date of application. However, such credit will be based on the date of completion and the applicability of the subject matter to current educational requirements.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Louisiana?
Becoming a real estate agent in Louisiana requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $920 (minus their enrollment fee through our 100% Reimbursement Program) to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599. At Agent Real Estate Schools, we offer a 100% Reimbursement Program, ask us about it!
- Exam fees run $90.
- License fees for an agent cost $45.
- Required fingerprints will cost $49.
- E&O Insurance will cost $136.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Idaho?
Becoming a real estate broker in Idaho requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring broker will spend up to $760 to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fees run $85.
- License fees for a broker cost $160.
- Required fingerprints will cost $61.25.
- Business entity/Branch office $50
- Other miscellaneous fees can run upward of $50, where applicable.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Louisiana does offer reciprocity with select states.
These states include:
- New Mexico
The reciprocal application process in Louisiana is done on a license for a license basis. This means that you can only obtain the same license type that you currently hold in your current state.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- Order a Certified License History from their current resident state and any other states where they are currently, or have been previously, licensed.
- Send License History to the LREC along with the Salesperson License Application Part A and the
- Salesperson and Associate Broker Application Part B
- Order a background check from the LREC website and provide proof of Errors and Omissions Insurance coverage.
How Do I Apply for The Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The salesperson examinations must be taken through PSI. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. Agent Real Estate Schools offers both a live online webinar Group Study Course and a study at your own pace online Fast Track Course. Additionally, we offer Prep Practice Course which will help you prepare for the Louisiana real estate licensing exam. Pass your Louisiana real estate license exam and ask us about our, 100% Reimbursement Program.
You will need to complete directly to the LREC and receive approval for testing prior to contacting the testing service. Once the LREC has reviewed your documents, a determination will be made as to your eligibility for examination. If all documentation is accepted and the appropriate licensing fees are paid, your information will be sent to PSI at which point you will receive an email confirmation with instructions for paying and scheduling.
Note: Fees paid to the LREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI. Exam eligibility is effective for 90 days from the date of issuance. This is a one-time only eligibility.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. LREC prefers that all applicants successfully pass both the state and national portions of exams before ordering a Criminal Background History because the Criminal Background History is only good for 1 year from the official date of the completed report.
How Do I Take the Louisiana Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson Exam is divided into two parts.
- Part 1: National Exam
- Part 1: State Exam
Salesperson licensing exams in Louisiana are administered by PSI exams at www.psiexams.com but before registering you must first receive an eligibility notice from the Louisiana Real Estate Commission. You get this by submitting a Louisiana Real Estate Salesperson application, proof of required education, and paying the application fee.
How Do I Submit My Louisiana Real Estate License Application?
When submitting your salesperson application, you are required to attach some other important documents. You will need to attach a proof of obtaining Error and Omission insurance. You will also need to include proof of broker sponsorship. After successful completion of the licensing exam, you can submit your Salesperson License Application Part B with the aforementioned documents.
Does Louisiana Require Post-Licensing Education?
Louisiana real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 45 hours of approved post-license coursework within the 180 days of licensure in order to be issued a permanent real estate license.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Louisiana Real Estate Commission
Phone: (225) 925-1923
Address: 9071 Interline Ave. Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Louisiana License Lookup Website