Pennsylvania State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 75 hours 
Agent Real Estate Schools Pennsylvania Course Hours Offered: 75 hours 

Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission website. 

They include:  

  • You must be 18 years old and above 
  • You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent 
  • You must be a legal U.S resident


Step 2: You must successfully complete the required 75-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission. 

Step 3: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher. 

Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.  

Step 5: Obtain a sponsoring broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?   

Step 6: Submit your application for a Pennsylvania real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by PREC. 

Step 7: Complete 14 hours of post-licensing education

How Long Does It Take to Get a Pennsylvania Real Estate License?

It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 75 hours of pre-licensing courses and 14 hours of post-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, and the application processing times are also a factor.  

What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Pennsylvania?

All courses are approved by Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Pennsylvania Salesperson Licensing Exam. 

Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by Pennsylvania state) to finish the required 75 hours. Pre-licensing courses must have been completed within 5 years prior to the date of successful completion of the licensing examination.  

The required courses within the 75 hours include:  

  • Real Estate Fundamentals (30 hours) 
  • Real Estate Practice (45 hours) 


Note: The state requires your course final exam be proctored. You will need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance of your course final exam. You must also sign an affidavit to verify you completed the course and the course final exam yourself. 

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Pennsylvania?

Becoming a real estate agent in Pennsylvania requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $780. 
How these costs break down:  

  • Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.  
  • Exam fees run $49 
  • License fees for an agent cost $107 
  • Required fingerprints will cost $22 

Real Estate License Reciprocity 

Yes, Pennsylvania does offer reciprocity with select states. 

These states include: 

  • Arkansas  
  • Georgia 
  • Louisiana 
  • Maryland 
  • Massachusetts 
  • New York 


Out-of-state residents are required to:   

  • You must pass the Pennsylvania State Portion of the Examination 
  • Your Jurisdiction of licensure  must agree to issue a license to a standard Pennsylvania licensee without further requirement. 
  • Your Jurisdiction must also have qualifications for licensure which are substantially comparable to those required by the Commission. 
  • You must maintain your principal place of business in the state through which reciprocity was granted and must maintain a current, active license in that state to maintain your reciprocal license in Pennsylvania. 

How Do I Apply for The Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam? 

The salesperson examinations must be taken through PSI. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.   

Note: Your exam scores are valid for 3 years. If you miss the 3-year deadline, you must retake the exam. If you passed the national and state sections of the exam on different dates, the 3-year period begins the day you pass the first part of the exam. 

For more information on how to schedule your licensing exam, refer to the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin

How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?

As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. This can be done through the state police’s PATCH website. The background check must not be more than 90 days from the date PREC receives your license application. 

How Do I Take the Pennsylvania Real Estate Licensing Exam?

The Pennsylvania Real Estate Salesperson Exam is divided into two parts. 

  • Part 1: National Exam which you must answer at least 60 questions out of 80 correctly. 
  • Part 2: State Exam which you must answer at least 23 questions out of 30 correctly.


You must pass both sections to pass the overall exam 

Salesperson licensing exams in Pennsylvania are administered by PSI exams at PSI will approve your state exam application, after which they will mail you an eligibility notice at which time you can contact PSI to set up a date and location for your state exam. 

How Do I Submit My Pennsylvania Real Estate License Application?

You can submit your salesperson license application at the state’s PALS website. 

After completing the pre-licensing education and successfully passing the exam, you must upload the required documents. This will be sent to your sponsoring broker, they will be notified that your application is ready for their review and approval, certifying that they are willing to hire, train, and supervise you as required by the law and regulations. 

Can you apply for Pennsylvania Real Estate License Online?

Yes you can apply for your Pennsylvania Salesperson License online at the State’s PALS website. 

Pennsylvania Real Estate License Renewal

Renewal cycle is May 31st of either odd or even numbered years, licensees receive notice two to three months prior to license expiration date via email. To see updated information, please visit: 

Does Pennsylvania Require Post-Licensing Education?

You must complete a specific set of continuing education modules through an approved education provider if you are renewing for the first time. New licensees must complete the 7-hour General Module and either the 7-hour Residential or 7-hour Commercial Modules. 

Special Considerations

You may also qualify for a Pennsylvania real estate license if you received a bachelor’s degree with a major in Real Estate from an accredited college, a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school. 

Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate. 

You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.

Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission 
Phone: (717) 783-3658 
Fax: (717) 787-0250 
Address: P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA 17105