Kentucky State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 336 Hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Kentucky Course Hours Offered: 336 Hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Kentucky Real Estate Commission website.
- They include:
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: Complete the required 336 classroom hours in real estate from an approved proprietary school with forty-eight 48 in Brokerage Management at an institution approved by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: You must have at least 20 hours per week for a 2-year period of active experience.
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 6: Pay the applicable fee.
Step 7: Submit your application for a Kentucky real estate Broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by KREC.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Kentucky Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete the required 336 classroom hours in real estate from an approved proprietary school with 48 in Brokerage Management. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Broker License in Kentucky?
All courses are approved by Kentucky Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Kentucky Broker Licensing Exam. You are required by Kentucky State to finish the required 336 hours before you can schedule and take the licensing exam.
The required courses within the 336 hours include:
- Real Estate Principles- 96 hours (you must take this course if you didn’t take the course during your salesperson license education).
- Brokerage Management- 48 hours- This is a mandatory course for broker applicants.
- Real Estate Law- 48 hours- This is the course most licensees complete, but is not required.
- 9 college elective credit hours. This is the equivalent of 144 classroom hours and is the highest number of electives accepted by the Commission.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Kentucky?
Becoming a real estate broker in Kentucky requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $650.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fee will cost $100
- License Application fee will cost $130
- FBI Background check fee will cost $18
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Kentucky does offer reciprocity with select states.
- West Virginia
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You must have an active Broker license for at least 1- 3 years (Depending on the state) immediately preceding the time of application.
- You must complete the 40-hour reciprocal license law course and submit fingerprints for a national criminal records check prior to scheduling the reciprocal license exam.
- A license history certification or letter of good standing from every state in which you are licensed as a real estate agent.
- You must register for the reciprocity broker exam through PSI.
- You must pay the appropriate fees with a credit/debit card or ACH (electronic check).
How Do I Apply for The Kentucky Broker Licensing Exam?
Kentucky Real Estate Commission partners with PSI to conduct the state licensing exam. Before you can schedule and exam, you must have completed the required pre-licensing hours of education and completed an FBI criminal background check. Review, form 207 and allow 7-10 days for processing. Do not register for the examination unless you have verified with the KREC that you have completed all the required hours.
You can find the testing schedule on the PSI website or the state Candidate Handbook. You can also call 855-746-8176 if you need assistance in registering for your exam.
Note: Fees paid to the KREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. For Kentucky residents, state and federal criminal background check reports must be obtained through IdentoGO© through the live scan process. Appointments are available by scheduling online or by calling 1-844-543-9714.
For non-Kentucky residents, applicants can send a hard card (FBI FD-258 applicant fingerprint card) to the IDEMIA card scan conversion facility.
For more information about the fingerprinting process, visit here.
How Do I Take the Kentucky Broker Licensing Exam?
Applicants must complete a criminal background check and complete the pre-licensing education hours before they can take the licensing exam. Both the National portion and state section of the Kentucky Licensing Exam must be passed with a score of 75% or higher.
There are 2 parts of Real Estate Broker Exam in Kentucky:
- National exam (out of 80 questions – 60 must be answered correctly).
- State exam (out of 40 questions – 30 must be answered correctly).
You are given 4 hours to complete the national and state specific parts part of the exam in Kentucky. You will need to take 2 forms of ID and a calculator with you.
If you successfully pass the exam, you will receive your license application at the PSI testing center. If you do not pass the first time (either or both the National and state portion), you are permitted to retake the exam twice, but you must retake the failed portion(s) within 4 months. You can see the specific breakdown of questions asked by topic area in the Candidate Handbook.
Note: The state requires proctoring of your licensing exam.
How Do I Submit My Kentucky Broker Application?
You must submit your license application to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission within 60 days of passing your real estate exam. If you fail to meet this deadline, you will need to retake the examination and begin the process again. You can apply for license by following one of the following:
- Mail submission: You will receive a paper application at the testing site upon passing both portions of the exam. Complete the application and send it to the Commission’s office with a check or money order for the appropriate payment.
- Online submission: You will receive an email from ppc.mailto:email@example.com within 36- 48 hours of passing both portions of the exam. Read the email carefully. Click on the link and follow the prompts. At the end of the application, you will be asked to pay the appropriate fees with a credit/debit card or ACH (electronic check).
You will also need to attach some documents alongside your application.
- Proof of high school diploma or its equivalent (GED)
- Official college transcript or course completion certificate
- Proof of completing the background check
- Proof of obtaining an Error and Omission Insurance.
KREC will review your application and decide. Once your application is approved, you can practice as a licensed Kentucky Broker.
Note: If you are applying as a principal broker, please note you must have a definite place of business (not a P.O. box) in Kentucky as well as an escrow account at a bank located in Kentucky.
Kentucky Broker License Renewal
Kentucky broker licenses are good for 1 year. Renewal fees will run you $60 annually.
Does Kentucky Require Post-Licensing Education?
Kentucky real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 16 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Kentucky Real Estate Commission
Phone: (502) 564-7760
Fax: (502) 564-1538
Toll Free: 888-373-3300
Address: 500 Mero Street, 2NE09, Frankfort, KY 40601
Kentucky License Fee Schedule