Georgia State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 75 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Georgia Course Hours Offered: 75 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate salesperson license in Georgia, you must meet all the state’s requirements. To start with, you have to meet the state’s salesperson pre-licensing education requirement as outlined on the Georgia Real Estate Commission website.
- They include:
- You must be 18 years of age and above
- You must be a high school graduate or have a certificate equivalent to this
Step 2: Applicants must meet one out of the following Georgia real estate license educational requirements:
- You must successfully complete the required 75-hour pre-licensing course for salesperson at an institution approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
- Successfully complete at least 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S or Canadian University or a course in real property, agency, and contracts from U.S or Canadian accredited law school. You will need to submit an original transcript from either of the institutions to determine whether they would be accepted or not.
- You must provide evidence that you’ve completed 75 hours of pre-license course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada and provide a letter of verification from that agency which verifies that the course work you completed is approved.
Step 3: Pass a criminal background check.
Step 4: Register and pass the salesperson licensing exam by earning a score of 72% or higher.
Step 5: You will be required to obtain sponsorship from a licensed Georgia broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 6: You must pay the appropriate fees which include the examination fee of $121.00 and the license fee of $170.00.
Step 7: You can apply for your Georgia Salesperson license.
Step 8: Lastly you will need to Complete a 25-hour post-license course.
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Georgia Real Estate License?
On the average, it takes about few months to complete a Georgia real estate license. It also varies per person on how long it takes to get the license depending on fast you can complete the 75 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination. It also depends on the time it takes you to complete the application process and 25-hour post-license course, and application processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate Real Estate License in Georgia?
All courses are approved by Georgia Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Georgia Real Estate License Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date as required by Georgia state, to complete the 75-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons course.
The required courses within the 75 hours include:
- License law
- Agency law
- Real property ownership
- Finance and closing
- Marketing regulations
- Property management
- Real estate calculations
Our policy at Agent Real Estate Schools states that once you start the education courses, you are required to complete the 75-hour salesperson pre-licensing course within 6 months of the start date as required by Georgia state. The final exam of your real estate licensing course will be proctored which means the exam will be monitored by an external body. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. Please see additional information on proctoring your exam and applying for it. Also, you’ll be required to sign an affidavit to verify and confirm you completed the course and the final exam yourself.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Georgia?
Becoming a real estate agent in Georgia requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $975.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Criminal background check $25.
- License fee $170 - $340 (application fees doubles if not applied within 90 days of passing exam).
- Exam testing fee of $121.
- Continuing Education course fees can run $59.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Georgia does offer reciprocity with every state in the U.S. except Florida; however, you must make sure you passed the examination in that state and your license has not expired.
To operate as a real estate agent in Georgia, you’ll need to fill out a real estate reciprocal application form. You will also need to pay a non-refundable license fee of $170 by cashier’s check or money order.
You must submit:
- Notarized Lawful Presence Verification form
- Certified license history
- Georgia Criminal Information Report (GCIC)
- Completed application
Can You Apply for a Georgia Real Estate License Online?
Yes, you can. You can send your application by mail and make a reservation by phone or online. When you make your reservation, you’ll also be required to pay the $121 exam fee.
How Do I Apply for and take the Georgia Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The Georgia Salesperson Licensing exam is administered by AMP and approved by the commission. You can apply for the examination at https://candidate.psiexams.com/.
It is important that show up to take the test with two forms of current ID. At least one must be government-issued and have a name, photo, and signature. The other must have at least your name and signature.
Note: If you are 17 years old, you can still sit for the exam however, the license cannot be activated until you are 18.
How Do I Submit My Georgia Salesperson Application?
You must apply for your real estate salesperson license within 12 months of the date you took the state exam. If this period has elapsed, you will be required to retake the exam at an additional cost.
While submitting your application, you must include a Sponsoring Broker Statement form signed by a licensed Georgia broker confirming your work on behalf of that brokerage firm. Learn more for more information about things to consider when looking for a sponsoring broker.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
The criminal background of an applicant or Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) Report must be provided and taken directly to the AMP testing center as you do not need to take it to the GCIC prior to receiving a license. This should not be longer than 60 days before your application for licensure. If the report shows history of criminal activity by any licensing agency, the Commission will investigate and decide whether to issue the license.
Does Georgia Require Post-Licensing Education?
Holders of a real estate salesperson license are required to take a 25-hour post-license course within their first year of being licensed. Failure to complete a post-license course during the first year of licensure, will result in lapse of the license and you will need to begin the process again.
You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an external body which will serves as an online proctor for your post-license course final exam. After passing the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to confirm you indeed completed the course yourself.
Georgia Real Estate License Renewal
Georgia real estate licenses are good for 4 years. You can renew your license 24 hours a day, seven days a week, up to 120 days (4 months) prior to the renewal date. You must renew by midnight of your renewal due date to avoid lapsing and incurring a late fee. Renewal fees will run you $125. For more information, please visit the Georgia Real Estate Commission & Appraiser Board.
Does Georgia Require Post-Licensing Education?
The Commission requires that all active licensees licensed after January 1, 1980, must complete at least 36 hours of approved continuing education coursework during each four-year renewal period to meet the Continuing Education requirements. The 36 hours of continuing education credits must include at least 3 hours of License Law.
GREC requires that Agent Real Estate Schools report course within seven to ten days from the course completion date.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Agent Real Estate Schools will provide you an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary
Georgia Real Estate Commission
Address: 229 Peachtree Street, N.E., International Tower, Suite 1000, Atlanta GA
Georgia License Lookup Website