Georgia State Required Broker Licensing Hours: 60 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Georgia Course Hours Offered: 60 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a salesperson real estate license in Georgia, you have to meet the state’s Broker Pre licensing Education requirement as outlined on the Georgia Real Estate Commission Website.
- You must be 21 years of age and above.
- You must be a high school graduate or have a certificate equivalent to this.
Step 2: Applicants must meet one out of the following Georgia real estate license educational requirements:
- Complete the required 60-hour Broker’s pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
- Complete a minimum of 15 quarter hours or 9 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law. You must submit to AMP (not the Commission) an official transcript from the college, university, or school of law with your application for examination. Continuing education, adult education, crash seminars, and special short courses are not acceptable. AMP will notify you as to whether your coursework is acceptable, OR
- Provide proof of completion of at least 60 hours of pre-license course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. You must obtain a letter from that agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province.
Step 3: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 4: You must meet the experience requirements.
Example: All broker applicants must have been licensed on active status for a minimum of 3 of the previous 5 years before they can be licensed. For more information on the requirements visit https://grec.state.ga.us/obtaining-a-license/real-estate/#broker
Step 5: You can then proceed to register and pass the broker licensing examination by earning a score of not less than 70%.
Step 6: You can apply for your Georgia broker’s license.
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Georgia Broker License?
On the average, it takes about 2-4 months to complete a Georgia real estate license. It also varies per person on how long it takes to get the license depending on fast you can complete the 60 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination. It also depends on the time it takes you to complete the application process and application processing times.
What Experience Is Required to Obtain a Georgia Broker License?
Before an associate broker or applicant can be licensed, they must have been licensed on active status for at least 3 years of the previous 5 years.
If you have been on an active license in Georgia for at least 3 years and are enrolled in a broker pre-license course at an accredited school approved by the commission, your license history will be verified by the commission at the time the school transmits your online application.
If you took your pre-licensing education outside of Georgia state or are licensed in another state, you must attach a certification of your license history from that state verifying you meet all the requirements for licensure with your application.
Note: That the license history must be less than 1 year old, and it must show ‘active’ time or dates.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate Broker License in Georgia?
All courses are approved by Georgia Department of Business and Professional Regulation – Division of Real Estate and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Georgia Broker Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date to complete the 60-hour pre-license coursework for the broker course.
Our policy at Agent Real Estate Schools states that once you start the education courses, you are required to complete the 60-hour broker pre-licensing course within 6 months of the start date as required by Georgia state. The final exam of your broker licensing course will be proctored which means the exam will be monitored by an external body. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. Please see additional information on proctoring your exam and applying for it. Also, you’ll be required to sign an affidavit to verify and confirm you completed the course and the final exam yourself.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Georgia?
Becoming a real estate broker agent in Georgia requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $600.
How these costs break down:
- Coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fees run $121.
- License fees for a broker cost $170.
Broker License Reciprocity
Georgia does offer reciprocity with every state in the U.S. except Florida; however, you must make sure you passed the examination in that state and your license has not expired.
To operate as a real estate broker in Georgia, you’ll need to fill out a real estate reciprocal application form. You will also need to pay a non-refundable license fee of $170 by cashier’s check or money order.
Can You Apply for a Georgia Broker License Online?
Yes, you can. You can send your application by mail and make a reservation by phone or online. When you make your reservation, you’ll also be required to pay the $121 exam fee.
How Do I Apply for and take the Georgia Broker Licensing Examination?
The Georgia Broker Licensing examination is administered by AMP and approved by the commission. You may apply for the examination online at www.goAMP.com. You must pay an examination fee of $121.
If you are 20 years old you can sit for the exam, however your license will not be activated until you are 21. The state requires a passing score of 70% and that your exam be proctored.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
The criminal background of an applicant or Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) Report must be provided and taken directly to the AMP testing center as you do not need to take it to the GCIC prior to receiving a license. This should not be longer than 60 days before your application for licensure. If the report shows history of criminal activity by any licensing agency, the Commission will investigate and decide whether to issue the license.
How Do I Submit My Georgia Broker Application?
California real estate licenses are good for four years, and the state will notify you within 60 days of your renewal. Renewal fees will run you $245 annually.
Does California Require Post-Licensing Education?
If you are applying for a broker’s license, you must apply within 12 months of the date you took the licensing examination. If this period has lapsed, you must retake the examination at an additional cost. Only “inactive” brokers licenses can be issued. You can activate a broker’s license by filing an “open a new firm” or a “change of qualifying broker” application with the Commission. If you desire an ‘active’ license, you must submit to AMP a Sponsoring Broker Statement application located in the candidate handbook.
Georgia Broker License Renewal
Your Georgia real estate license must be renewed every 4 years. The renewal fee of $125 is due by the last day of the month of your birthday in the year indicated on your pocket card.
You are allowed to pay the renewal fee up to four months prior to this date. The Georgia Real Estate Commission will also mail a renewal application to your sponsoring broker within one to two months of your renewal date.
Does Georgia Require Post-Licensing Education?
Georgia real estate brokers who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 36 hours of Commission approved continuing education coursework. The 36 hours of continuing education credits must include at least 3 hours of License Law.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Georgia Real Estate Commission
Address: 229 Peachtree Street, N.E., International Tower, Suite 1000, Atlanta GA
Georgia License Lookup Website