Connecticut State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 60 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Connecticut Course Hours Offered: 60 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
Step 2: You must successfully complete the required 60-hour pre-licensing course in Real Estate Principles and Practices at an institution approved by the Connecticut Department of Consumer protection.
Step 3: You must complete a 15-hour classroom course in Real Estate Brokerage Principles and Practices.
Step 4: You must complete a 15-hour classroom course in Legal Compliance.
Step 5: You must complete two 15-hour pre-license elective courses, OR one 30-hour pre-license appraisal course, OR provide evidence that you successfully completed at least 20 real estate transactions in the previous 5 years.
Step 6: You must be actively engaged for at least two years as a licensed real estate salesperson under the supervision of a real estate broker in this state.
Step 7: You must submit your application for a Connecticut Real Estate Broker License. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by the state’s licensing department
Step 8: You must pass the Connecticut Salesperson licensing examination earning a score of 70% or higher.
Note: If you plan to do business as a legal entity you must obtain a broker license in the name of that legal entity.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Connecticut Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete all the required hours of pre-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, obtaining sponsorship from a broker and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Broker License in Connecticut?
All courses at Agent Real Estate Schools are approved by Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Connecticut Broker Licensing Exam. You will be required to complete all required pre-licensing course.
The required courses within the 60 hours include:
- 60 hours classroom course in Real Estate Principles and practices.
- 15-hour classroom course in Real Estate Brokerage Principles and Practices
- 15-hour classroom course in Legal Compliance
- 15-hour Pre-License elective courses or one 30-hour pre-license appraisal course.
Note: The course may be obtained through state certified real estate schools, approved college and universities and education completed at other licensing jurisdictions.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Connecticut?
Becoming a real estate broker in Connecticut requires time and money but is very rewarding. The amount of money spent might vary, but an aspiring Broker will spend up to $1,00 to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Application fee: $120
- Broker original License fee: $565
- Guaranty fee: $20
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Connecticut offers real estate license reciprocity with select other states for both a Salesperson or Broker.
These states include:
- New York
However, you must meet certain requirements.
- You must be actively licensed by examination in your state of licensure.
- Applicants applying for reciprocity in Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, or applicants who have not taken the written examination in a reciprocal state will be required to take the State Portion of the Connecticut Real Estate Examination administered by PSI. After the application is reviewed and approved, you will receive an Examination Eligibility Postcard from PSI with instructions to register and schedule your exam.
- You must provide proof of completed and notarized application.
- You must provide original license history received directly from the reciprocal state. The license history must confirm you have an active license issued by examination.
- You must provide proof of payment of the appropriate fees.
How Do I Apply for The Connecticut Broker Licensing Exam?
Connecticut Partners with PSI to conduct the licensing examination. PSI recommends scheduling your exams online as it is fast and easy. Visit www.psiexams.com to register. For more information on scheduling processes, you can see Candidate Information Handbook. There, you will be able to learn how to schedule your exam using mail or phone registration. After your application is processed and approved, you will receive an examination eligibility post card with scheduling instruction.
Note: The Eligibility to take the exam lasts for 12 months. All registration fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
There are no specific instructions on how to submit fingerprints for a background check at Connecticut. However, you must make sure you have a clean criminal history and you have not been found guilty of offences such as forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or other similar offenses otherwise, your real estate license could be suspended or revoked, and the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection could impose a fine of up to $2,000.
Note: You are required to complete the Criminal Conviction Review Worksheet and document any crime you might have been found guilty of.
How Do I Take the Connecticut Broker Licensing Exam?
The Connecticut Salesperson Licensing Exam is divided into two portions:
- National Portion
- State Portion
Sales licensing exams in Connecticut are administered by www.psiexams.com but before taking the exam, you must first receive an examination eligibility post card with scheduling instructions. This will be done after application has been processed and approved. The exam is administered on the computer so you will be given your score immediately following the exam.
How Do I Submit My Connecticut Broker Application?
After successful completion of the licensing exam, you can submit your Broker Application at PSI. Take note of the following before submitting your application to PSI:
- You may take the examination on an unlimited basis for up to one year from the date of eligibility.
- You must pass both portions of the examination within one (1) year of eligibility.
- If you do not pass both portions within one year, you must reapply with the PSI.
- After you pass both portions of the examination, within the one year of eligibility, you have 2 years from the date of the most recently passed portion to activate your license.
- All real estate broker licenses expire annually on March 31st. All new licenses activated January 1st – March 31st will be given an expiration date of March 31st of the next year.
This link will take you to the PSI web page. Click on "Government/State Licensing Agencies"; CT Real Estate; and then click "Download Candidate Information Bulletin" for the application forms and all necessary information.
Note: The application fee varies; you may need to see the PSI website for a comprehensive list of the appropriate fees. All fees are non-refundable.
Connecticut Broker License Renewal
Connecticut broker licenses are good for one year. Renewal fees will run you $383 annually.
Does Connecticut Require Post-Licensing Education?
Connecticut real estate brokers who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 12 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Department of Consumer Protection
450 Columbus Boulevard, Suite 801, Hartford, CT 06103
Main Telephone: (860) 713-6150 | Toll-Free: (800) 842-2649
TDD: (860) 713-7240 | Fax: (860) 713-7239