Colorado State Required Broker Licensing Hours: 72 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Colorado Course Hours Offered: 72 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate broker license in Colorado, you must meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies Real Estate Division.
- You must be 18 years old and above
Step 2: Complete 168-hour real estate licensing education.
Step 3: Pass the national and state portions of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s exam by obtaining a score of 75% or better.
Step 4: You must provide evidence of Error and Omissions Insurance.
Step 5: Complete a criminal and fingerprint background check. Visit fingerprint background check for more information.
Step 6: Complete your Colorado real estate license application.
Note: Attorneys and other currently or previously licensed Agents should visit the division’s broker qualifying education requirements page for information on their respective education requirement. If you have a degree from an accredited college with a major course of study in real estate as an alternative, you might not need to take the 168-hour real estate licensing. You must however provide official transcripts upon application.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Colorado Real Estate License?
People move at different speeds when learning. It varies per person on how long it takes to get a Colorado real estate license depending on how fast you can complete the 168 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination. It also depends on the time it takes you to complete the application process.
Note: Applications generally take up to ten 10 business days from the receipt of a complete application for the division to process.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Colorado?
Once you complete your courses, you are eligible to sit for the Colorado Broker License Exam. You must 168-hour broker pre-licensing course within a year of the start date as required by Colorado state.
The required courses within the 168 hours include:
- Real Estate Law and Practice (48 hours)
- Colorado Contracts and Regulations (48 hours)
- Trust Accounts and Recordkeeping (8 hours)
- Current Legal Issues (8 hours)
- Real Estate Closings (24 hours)
- Practical Applications (32 hours)
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Colorado?
Becoming a real estate broker in Colorado requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring broker will spend up to $950 to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fees run $44.95.
- Application fees for a broker cost $200.00.
- Required fingerprints will cost $50.00.
- Errors and Omissions Insurance can cost $50.00.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Colorado is one of the states which offer full reciprocity which means you might not have to retake the pre-licensing education if you meet the basic requirements.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- Pass the criminal background check.
- Provide the previously acquired certified license from the jurisdiction in which you hold a license.
- Pass the state portion of the Colorado Real Estate Broker’s Exam.
How Do I Apply for The Colorado Broker Licensing Exam?
The broker examinations must be taken through the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies Real Estate Division. The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. Agent Real Estate Schools offers a Broker Licensing Course.
You will need to complete a Broker Examination Application and submit it along with the required fee and transcripts showing successful completion of the statutory college-level real estate courses and degrees.
PSI is the current exam vendor for the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies Real Estate Division. You can contact PSI Candidate Care Center at 855-744-0313 to make an exam reservation.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Criminal Background Check?
Before you submit your application for real estate licensure, you are required to submit a set of fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI). Both CBI and FBI records will be checked, and all applications received by the Division of Real Estate will not be processed without receipt of the CBI background results.
For more information on fingerprinting and where you can have them taken, click here.
How Do I Submit My Colorado Broker Application?
It can take up to 10 working days from the time of receipt for applications to be processed. You can apply for a Colorado Broker license at https://apps.colorado.gov/dre/licensing/.
Before your license can be considered active, you must have a recent Error and Omissions insurance policy in place. To learn more about obtaining your Error & Omissions Insurance policy, click here.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies – Real Estate Division
Phone: 303-894-2166 or 303-894-2185
Address: 1560 Broadway, Suite 925, Denver, CO 80202
Colorado License Lookup Website