Alaska State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 40 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Alaska Course Hours Offered: 40 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate license (Salesperson) in Alaska, you have to meet all the state’s requirements. To start with, you have to meet the state’s Salesperson Pre licensing Education requirement as outlined on the Alaska Real Estate Commission.
- You must be 19 years old and above
- You must not be under indictment for a felony, forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud others, or fraud, which in the judgment of the Commission, affects the individual’s ability to practice as a real estate salesperson competently and safely.
Step 2: Complete the required 40-hour of an Alaska state approved pre-licensing real estate course.
Step 3: Successfully pass the salesperson licensing examination by scoring at least 75%.
Step 4: Seek sponsorship from a real estate broker licensed in the state. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 5: You’ll also need to obtain “Errors and Omissions Insurance”
Step 6: Submit application for your Alaska Salesperson license within 6 months after passing the exam and pay the appropriate fees.
Step 7: Complete required 30 hours of approved post-licensing education.
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get an Alaska Real Estate License?
It varies from person-to-person how long it takes to get an Alaska real estate license. It depends on quickly you can complete the 40 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing exam. It also depends on the time it takes you to complete the application process, post-license course, and application processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Alaska?
Once you complete your courses, you are eligible to sit for the Alaska Real Estate License Exam.
You have a window of 1 year from the start date to complete the 40-hour coursework for the real estate salesperson license course.
The required courses within the 40 hours include:
- Real estate law
- Types of interest and ownership in real estate
- Legal description
- Home ownership and more
Note: It is also important to note that Alaska state education certificates are only valid for 18 months.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Alaska?
Becoming a real estate agent in Alaska requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $1,100.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam Fee $100.
- Application fee of $200.
- License fees for an agent cost $140.
- Surety Fund fee of $50.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Alaska has full reciprocity with other states if you’ve held your license for at least a year and if you passed the Alaska state portion of the real estate exam. However, some requirements still need to be met.
- Provide a License History, including License Status, from jurisdiction where they hold or have ever held a Real Estate License.
- Show proof of passing the Alaska portion of real estate exam by submitting the original exam score sheet.
- Show proof of completing a 6-hour course on Alaska’s Real Estate Law.
- Submit proof of Salesperson pre-licensing education equivalent to the 40 hours required
- Provide a written statement verifying that your main occupation was a real estate agent within the immediate six months preceding the date of application.
- You must have been employed by a sponsoring broker within the immediate six months preceding the date of application.
- Provide proof of Error and Omissions Insurance coverage
- You must provide information about your sponsoring broker.
How Do I Take the Alaska Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The Alaska real estate commission contracts with Pearson Vue Testing Services to administer and grade of the exam. The commission is responsible for establishing exam contents, but Pearson Vue retains full copyright over its examinations including the portions covering the Alaska statutes and regulations.
The Salesperson exam consists of both a national part and a state part. The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. Agent Real Estate Schools offers both a live online webinar Group Study Course and a study at your own pace online Fast Track Course. Additionally, we offer Prep Practice Course which will help you prepare for the Alaska real estate licensing exam. Pass your Alaska real estate license exam and ask us about our 100% Reimbursement Program.
Candidates must pass each part of the examination with a score of at least 75% and he validity of the exam scores lasts only for 6 months. You must have filed a complete application with the Alaska Real Estate Commission before the exam scores expires.
Do I Need to Be Fingerprinted to Get a Real Estate License in Alaska?
Alaska does not have a fingerprint requirement as part of earning a salesperson license.
Can You Apply for an Alaska Real Estate License Online?
Yes, you do have the option to submit an online application for your Alaska salesperson license. Online applications are the fastest way to move through the licensing process.
How Do I Submit My Alaska Salesperson Application?
To start with, licensees are required to apply for licensure within 6 months after they’ve successfully passed the state exams. You can submit the Alaska salesperson application online at Salesperson License by Examination using the MyAlaska account. By using this method, it ensures you receive email notifications about your application status.
All licensees are required to obtain and submit proof of Errors & Omissions Insurance. You are also required to show proof that you are sponsored by a licensed Alaska broker.
Alaska Real Estate License Renewal
Renewal application forms are made available on the Alaska Real Estate Commission website when the renewal period opens 60 days before January 31 of an even-numbered year.
Does Alaska Require Post-Licensing Education?
Yes, Alaska requires all new licensees to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education and it must be completed within 1 year after the date of initial salesperson licensure. After the required 30 hours of post licensing is completed, you must submit an Affidavit of Post Licensing Education form to the Alaska Real Estate Commission accompanied by the appropriate fees.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Alaska Real Estate Commission
Phone: (907) 269-8162
Fax: (907) 269-8156
Address: 550 W. 7th Avenue, Suite 1500 Anchorage, AK 99501