Alabama State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 60 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Alabama Course Hours Offered: 60 hours
Step 1: To qualify for a real estate license (Salesperson) in Alabama, you must meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the Alabama Real Estate Commission site: https://arec.alabama.gov/arec/
- You must be 19 years old and above
- You must be a U.S. Citizen or lawful permanent resident
- Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.
- Show proof of high school graduation or equivalent
- Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
- Not have had a real estate application rejected or revoked in any state within the past 2 years
Step 2: Complete the approved 60-hour Alabama real estate pre-license course within 1 year of start date.
Step 3: Pass the Alabama and national licensing exam within six months of passing the pre-licensing course. You must pass the exam with a score of 70% or higher.
Step 4: Submit an application for an Alabama Temporary Salesperson’s license.
Step 5: Complete the required 30-hour post-license course.
Step 6: Submit your application for an Alabama Permanent Salesperson’s license.
Note: It is important you submit the application within 90 days of your exam date, or the exam is null and void. Applications are located at www.arec.alabama.gov
Which license is right for you? The difference between a real estate agent and a real estate broker is based on years of experience and education. Firstly, a real estate salesperson must be sponsored by a licensed broker. A broker can work for themselves and hire agents to work for them. Becoming a real estate broker requires completing additional coursework and working a minimum of two years as a real estate agent.
How Long Does It Take to Get an Alabama Real Estate License?
It varies from person-to-person how long it takes to get an Alabama real estate license. It depends on quickly you can complete the 60 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing exam. It also depends on the time it takes you to complete the application process, post-license course, and application processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Alabama?
All courses are approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Alabama Real Estate License Exam.
The required courses within the 60 hours include:
- Alabama License Law
- National Math
- National Ownership
- National Brokerage
- National Finance
- National Valuation
Note: The state requires that your final exam must be supervised by an external body. It is required that you schedule an appointment before your final exam. For the state to confirm it was you who truly completed the course and the final exam, you will be required to sign an affidavit.
How Do I Pre-Register with The Alabama Real Estate Commission?
Before taking a pre-license course exam, you will be required to pre-register with the Alabama Real Estate commission. The purpose of the pre-registration is to ensure rapid diffusion of information between the state of Alabama, its exam providers, and instructors.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Alabama?
Becoming a real estate agent in Alabama requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $730 to get their license, while also spending an additional $150 annually to keep their license active.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Research and education fees run $30.
- License fees for an agent cost $150.
- Criminal records search fee will cost $25.
- Examination fee through PSI will run $77.
Students will need to ensure their real estate school is approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Does Alabama offer real estate license reciprocity? The answer is yes, Alabama does offer reciprocity. However, you will have to meet some certain requirements.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- Take a six‐hour course in Alabama real estate law and take and pass the Alabama licensing examination.
- Submit an official “Certificate of Licensure” form which confirms that you hold a current license in another state, with the application.
The certification can be obtained from the Real Estate Commission Office in that state. This certification must have been issued within 120 days of the AREC’s receipt of your reciprocal license application. Exam candidates will receive an application for licensure at the test centers upon passage of the exam.
Can You Apply for an Alabama Real Estate License Online?
The simple answer is No. You can’t apply for an Alabama real estate license online. You must mail the completed application, along with any transcripts and fees paid by check, credit card, or money order.
How Do I take the Alabama State Licensing Exam?
The salesperson licensing exam must be taken through www.psiexams.com. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
As previously stated, you must pass the salesperson exams within a period of 12 months starting from when you registered for the course. This is extremely important because if you miss the deadline, you’ll have to start the process again.
After completing the pre-licensing course at Agent Real Estate Schools, we’ll help you submit verification of course completion electronically. Without this you will not be able to schedule the state exam.
How Do I Submit My Application for An Alabama Temporary Salesperson’s License?
The application for a temporary salesperson’s license must be submitted to the commission within a period of 90 after passing the required examination. You can register for your temporary ID here. You will be required to provide this number at the end of your pre-licensing course.
The application must include:
- All appropriate license fees
- Documentation for minimum age
- U.S. citizenship
- State residency
- High school completion
Does Alabama Require Post-Licensing Education?
You are required to complete the 30-hour post licensing education for salespersons license within the first 6 months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees.
Individuals must also apply for an Original Salesperson License and have it issued before the expiration of the first 6-month period. However, before you can take a post-licensing course, you will be required to have a temporary license issued. You can enroll for the 30-hour post licensing course with us at Agent Real Estate Schools.
Each real estate licensee must complete a minimum of 15 hours of real estate instruction approved by the Alabama Real Estate Commission every even-numbered year by 9/30. The license renewal deadline is every even-numbered year by 8/31.
How Do I Submit My Application for An Alabama Permanent Salesperson’s License?
A holder of a temporary salesperson license must submit the application for an Original Salesperson License within 12 months regardless of if you’re an active or inactive agent. The 12-month period begins on the first day of the month following issuance of the temporary license and concludes on the last day of the twelfth month.
If you want to apply for an original salesperson’s license, you can check the commission’s website at www.arec.alabama.gov. Failure to submit an application means you will have to begin the licensing process again with the pre-license course.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you must follow the instructions for fingerprint scanning and processing found at www.aps.gemalto.com.
The Commission can only utilize fingerprints processed through Gemalto. They also cannot accept fingerprints completed for any reason outside of pursuing a real estate license from the Alabama Real Estate Commission. The fingerprints will be utilized to conduct a federal and state criminal background check per Ala. Code Act 2016-322.
Non-resident applicants who cannot come to Alabama to be fingerprinted must contact the Alabama Real Estate Commission office to obtain fingerprint cards. Click HERE to request a set of fingerprint cards. Upon receiving the cards in the mail, non-residents must have their prints professionally rolled then submit them to Gemalto. Follow the instructions at www.aps.gemalto.com.
Note: Use of fingerprint cards is only for non-residents who cannot come to Alabama to have their fingerprints scanned.
Alabama Real Estate License Renewal
All Alabama licensees are required to complete a minimum of 15-hours of approved Continuing Education (CE) prior to renewal of licensure.
Every licensee must complete 3-hours of mandatory:
- Risk Management
- Initial Contact to Accepted Offer
12 additional hours of:
- Elective classes
Continuing Education can be completed anytime between October 1 of the first year of licensure and September 30 of the second year of licensure. All license in Alabama must be renewed prior to October 1 in even years.
Alabama state requires a minimum amount of seat time in the course content. Students cannot receive credit for completing more than 6 hours per course in any given day. The first attempt at the live, proctored, course final exam is not accessible until at least the 11th day after starting the course.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Name: Alabama Real Estate Commission
Address: 1201 Carmichael Way Montgomery, AL 36106