Wisconsin State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 36 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Wisconsin Course Hours Offered: 36 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Have held a real estate salesperson license for at least 2 years within the last 4 preceding application.
Step 2: Complete the required 36-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the Wisconsin Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher.
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Submit your application for a Wisconsin broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by DSPS.
Step 6: Complete 18 hours of continuing education.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Wisconsin Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 36 hours of pre-licensing courses and 18 hours of continuing education. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, fingerprinting process, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate Broker License in Wisconsin?
If you are an applicant who has never held a broker's license, you must have at least two years of experience within the last four years preceding application practicing as a licensed salesperson under the direct supervision of a licensed broker, excluding any time spent in an apprenticeship. Experience worth at least 40 points (below) must be documented on the application and verified by the supervising broker.
At least 40 points of experience must be documented to be eligible for a broker's license:
- Each completed/closed residential transaction: 5 points
- Each completed/closed commercial transaction: 10 points
- Each property management contract: .5 point/month
- Each completed/closed timeshare: 1 point
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in Wisconsin?
Becoming a real estate broker in Wisconsin requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $560.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Application Fee: $75
- Exam fees run $65
- Proctoring fee:$15
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Wisconsin Reciprocity has agreements with select states.
If you’re a licensee holding an active Managing Broker License in Illinois or Indiana, you are exempt from the education requirement and may take the Broker exam directly.
If your Illinois or Indiana license is not active but was active within the past two years, you may apply to obtain a Broker License by endorsement.
Out-of-state residents will be required to:
- Complete the board-approved 6-hour Pre-Licensing education program for brokers and the board-approved 13-hour Pre-Licensing education program for Salespersons.
- Pass the Wisconsin-specific Salesperson Exam and the Wisconsin-specific Broker Exam.
- Submit evidence satisfactory to the Real Estate Examining Board of Salesperson experience.
How Do I Apply for The Wisconsin Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The broker exam must be taken through Person VUE. To schedule your exam, first create your free account through the Pearson VUE website.
Once your account is created, you can select your exam date and location. You can also schedule your exam by calling Pearson VUE at (888)204-6284. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
Note: Fees paid to the DSPS do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to Pearson VUE.
How Do I Take the Wisconsin Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam?
The Wisconsin real estate broker exam is divided into two parts.
- Part 1: National Exam
- Part 1: State Exam
There are 100 questions in both parts of Wisconsin real estate broker exam and you have to answer 75 questions correctly to pass the exam. You will have more than 3 hours to complete the test. Broker licensing exams in Wisconsin are administered by Pearson VUE exams at Pearson VUE.
Once a student completes the exam, they will receive a score report at the testing center, which is either marked “pass” or “fail”. Students can retake the exam as many times as needed until they pass.
How Do I Submit My Wisconsin Broker Application?
License applications should be submitted online through the Online Licensure Application System (OLAS).
A paper version of the license application can also be mailed to the Department.
You will need to attach some items alongside your application.
- Application form for real estate broker license.
- Licensing fee payable to the Department of Safety and Professional Services.
- Completion of the DSPS-approved real estate broker educational instruction within four years of broker licensure and evidence of licensure as a real estate salesperson for at least two years within the last four preceding years under the direct supervision of a licensed broker and have accumulated 40 points of experience.
- Evidence that you passed the Wisconsin broker exam.
Note: License applications must be submitted within 1 year of passing the state exam and within 5 years of completing the pre-license course.
If you are not a resident of Wisconsin, you must submit an Irrevocable Consent For Nonresidents form along with your license application.
Can You Apply for Wisconsin Broker License Online?
Wisconsin Real Estate Broker License Renewal
Renewal periods are from 12/15-even year- 12/14/even year with a renewal cost of $82.
Does Wisconsin Require Post-Licensing Education?
You must complete 18 hours of continuing education which includes six, three-hour modules with specific course content.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Wisconsin Real Estate Commission
4822 Madison Yard Way
Madison, WI 53705