Washington State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 90 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Washington Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Washington State Department of Licensing website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 3: Register and pass the Washington broker licensing exam.
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Submit your application for a Washington broker license.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Washington Broker License?
It can vary from person to depending how fast or slow you can complete the required 90 hours of pre-licensing courses You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process and the application and background processing times are also a factor.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Broker License in Washington?
All courses are approved by Washington Real Estate Board. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Washington Real Estate License Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months per course, from the start date of your courses, (as required by Washington state) to finish the required 90 hours.
The required courses within the 90 hours include:
- Real Estate Fundamentals (60 hours)
- Real Estate Practices (30 hours)
The courses may be obtained through State certified real estate schools, approved College and Universities and education completed at other licensing Jurisdictions.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Washington State?
Becoming a real estate agent in Washington requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $700.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Washington real estate license exam fee: $138.25
- Broker original License fee: $146.25
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Washington does not have a formal license reciprocity agreement with other Jurisdictions. However, out-of-state agents with equivalent licensing can typically waive the education portion of the Washington licensing process.
Out of State applicants will have to follow these processes:
- You will need to apply for the broker’s exam by submitting an original license history from the Jurisdiction in which you’re currently licensed to. You can do this via Fax: 360.586.0998 or Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- You will receive further instructions from the licensing Commission on how to take the broker’s exam.
- If you’ve had an active license in another state in the previous six (6) months, you’ll only need to take the Washington State portion of the exam.
- After you’ve passed the required portions of the exam, you may submit your application.
How Do I Apply for The Washington Broker Licensing Exam?
The salesperson examinations must be taken through AMP. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. Washington state partners with AMP to conduct the licensing examination. You are required to register with the testing vendor, Applied Measurements Professionals, Inc. (AMP) at www.goAMP.com with your Agent Real Estate Schools student ID number to schedule your exam.
You must pass both State and National Portion of the exam. Candidates who fail one portion of the examination and pass the other need retake only the portion they failed. Any failed portion can be retaken six (6) months after the first examination attempt.
Note: The validity of the exam result lasts only 12 months. You must apply for your license within this period otherwise you may have to reapply and retake the exam.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. You can schedule for a fingerprint appointment through identogo.com. The scanned fingerprints will be sent electronically to Washington State Patrol (WSP). Visit Fingerprinting and background checks for more information on how to submit your fingerprints if you are a resident of Washington.
If you are a non-resident, call Real Estate Regulatory at 360.664.6484 for fingerprint card submission instructions.
How Do I Take the Washington Broker Licensing Examination?
The Washington Broker Licensing Exam is divided into two portions:
- The National Portion
- The State Portion
Broker licensing exams in Washington are administered by Applied Measurements Professionals, Inc. (AMP) at www.goAMP.com but before registering, you must first receive an eligibility notice from the Washington State Department of Licensing. You get this by submitting a Real Estate License application and proof of meeting all the requirements within one year of passing the licensing examination.
Washington Real Estate License Renewal
Washington real estate licenses are good for two years. Renewal fees will run you $223 every 2 years.
Does Washington Require Post-Licensing Education?
Washington real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Washington State Department of Licensing
Phone: 360-664-6488 or 360-664-6500
Address: Real Estate Licensing Department of Licensing, PO Box 3917 Seattle, WA 98124
Washington License Lookup Website