Oregon State Required Education Hours: 150 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Oregon Course Hours Offered: 150 hours
Step 1: Meet all the state’s requirements as outlined on the Oregon Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years of age and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
Step 2: You must complete 150 hours of required broker pre-licensing education.
Step 3: You must pass the state and national portion of exam.
Step 4: You must submit your fingerprints for a criminal background check.
Step 5: Pay the applicable fee before submitting your application.
Step 6: Apply for broker license.
Note: For more information on how to register, visit ELicensing.
How Long Does It Take to Get an Oregon Broker License?
The time taken to get an Oregon broker license varies, depending on the pace in which you complete the 150 hours of education and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process, and application and background check processing times.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate Broker License in Oregon?
All courses are approved by Oregon Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the Oregon Broker Licensing Exam.
Once you start the education course at Agent Real Estate schools, our policy is that you complete the 150-hour salesperson pre-licensing course within a year of the start date.
The required courses within the 150 hours include:
- Oregon Real Estate Practices
- Oregon Real Estate Law
- Oregon Real Estate Finance
- Oregon Real Estate Law of Agency
- Oregon Real Estate Contracts
- Oregon Real Estate Property Management
- Oregon Real Estate Brokerage
Note: If you pass only one section of the Broker License examination, you are only required to retake the failed section. The score for the section passed is valid for 12 months; if the other section of the examination is not passed by then, both sections of the exam must be retaken.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Broker License in Oregon?
Becoming a real estate broker in Oregon requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring broker will spend up to $1,030.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fees run $75.
- License fees for a broker cost $300.
- Required fingerprints will cost $56.25.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Oregon has reciprocal licensing agreements with several states.
- Alberta, Canada
- South Dakota
However, you must still meet all of Oregon's licensing requirements to conduct professional real estate activity in Oregon even if you currently hold a real estate license in another state.
- Complete an application and pay the $300 license application fee.
- Submit a background check and fingerprints.
- Furnish certification of an active license from another U.S. state; and
- Pay the required fee to the exam services provider to take the state portion of the applicable license examination.
- Contact the agency for more information on the requirements and the application process.
How Do I Apply for and take the Oregon Broker Licensing Examination?
The Oregon Real Estate Commission has contracted with PSI Services LLC to conduct examinations through a network of computer exam centers. PSI works closely with the state to be certain that examinations meet local as well as national requirements in basic principles and examination development standards. You can schedule and pay for license exam online or at (833) 892-5441 with PSI.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
You will have your fingerprints taken at the PSI test center after passing the exam. A fingerprinting fee of $61.25 is paid directly to PSI at the exam site. The prints are forwarded electronically to the appropriate review agencies. Fingerprint processing may take up to 4 weeks.
Note: Visit background check for more information.
How Do I Submit My Oregon Broker Application?
You will need to register for an account in eLicense, the agency's online license management system after which you can apply for a broker license and pay the $300 nonrefundable application fee in eLicense. When the application is processed, you will receive an Applicant ID number by email. For your application to be approved, some requirements must be met.
- You must pass the criminal background check.
- You must have a new principal broker who will add your pending license into the business.
- The Commission must review your application and decide if they will approve it or not.
- You must be fingerprinted for the purpose of conducting a state and national criminal history background check.
Oregon Broker License Renewal
Oregon broker licenses are good for 1 year. The expiration date for all Board Realty Regulation Licensees is October 31st of each year. Renewal opens 60 prior to expiration.
Does Oregon Require Post-Licensing Education?
Oregon Salespersons and Brokers are required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education every licensing year. The required hours shall be in real estate related courses. For supervising brokers, 4 of those hours must be in supervising broker courses.
If you are an attorney who is a member in good standing of the California State Bar, then you are exempt from some of the requirements to become a licensed real estate agent.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
California Department of Real Estate
Address: 1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815