Ohio State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 120 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Ohio Course Hours Offered: 120 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Ohio Real Estate Commission website.
- They include:
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- Be honest, truthful and of good reputation
- Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude
Step 2: Complete the required 120-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the Ohio Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: The applicant must hold an active salesperson license for 2 of the last 5 years. You must also meet the following requirements:
- If licensed prior to 1/01/1972, no further education is due If licensed from 1/02/72 to 1/03/84, you must have taken the required 120 hours
- If licensed on or after 1/03/84, you must have taken some required courses
- You must possess a minimum of two years of post-secondary education, or the equivalent hours of sixty (60) semester or ninety (90) quarter hours.
Step 4: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 5: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 6: You must have completed 20 real estate transactions.
Step 7: Submit your application for an Ohio real estate broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by OREC.
Step 8: Complete 10 classroom hours of post-licensing education.
How Long Does It Take to Get an Ohio Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 120 hours of pre-licensing courses and 10 hours of post-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing exam as well as completing the application process, fingerprinting process, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate Broker License in Ohio?
All courses are approved by Ohio Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Ohio Broker Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your course, to finish the required 120 hours.
The required courses within the 120 hours include:
- Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
- Ohio Real Estate Principles & Practice (40 hours)
- Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
- Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in Ohio?
Becoming a real estate agent in Ohio requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $760.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam application and licensing fee runs for $100
- Required fingerprints will cost about $58
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Ohio State has Reciprocity with select states.
- West Virginia
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You need to hold an active Broker License in that state for two of the last five years.
- Take an Ohio Real Estate Law Course. This course must be taken at an institution of higher education.
- You must pass the State portion of the Ohio Real Estate Broker exam for your license to be issued with a minimum score of 75%.
- Submit your application, Consent to Service of Process form, and a letter of good standing.
How Do I Apply for The Ohio Broker Licensing Exam?
The salesperson exams must be taken through PSI. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. PSI recommends you register and schedule your exam directly by visiting https://www.psiexams.com or calling (855) 834-8749. For online registration, select the exam and enter the OH RE _ID# that was provided to you.
The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
Note: Your application for the salesperson exam also serves your Ohio state license application. You can’t apply until after completing your pre-license education because you will need proof of completing the education requirements.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check.
Ohio requires you to use a Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I) approved Webcheck® user. You must schedule this with Web-check user to have your fingerprints taken and submitted to the system.
When you take your fingerprints, it’s vital to provide the center with right reason codes:
- BCI&I Reason Code: 4735 05 and/or 121 08
- FBI Reason Code: 121 08
Note: You must apply for a background check within 10 days of submitting your salesperson examination application.
How Do I Take the Ohio Broker Licensing Exam?
The Ohio real estate license exam is divided into two parts.
Part 1: National Exam
- 80 questions (must get 60 out of 80 correct).
- Must be completed within 2 hours.
Note: 5 questions are considered "experimental" questions and are not scored.
Part 2: State Exam
- 40 questions (must get 30 out of 40 correct).
- Must be completed within 1 hour.
Broker licensing exams in Ohio are administered by PSI exams at www.psiexams.com and you must pass both sections of the exam with a score of 75%.
How Do I Submit My Ohio Broker Application?
To apply for the Ohio State Broker License, download the broker exam application with fee. This application also serves as your state license application. You'll need to mail it to the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing alongside proof of completion of all Education Requirements (A copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates).
Can you apply for Ohio Real Estate License Online?
After downloading the application for the roker license application form, you will need to mail the form along with the appropriate fees and other required documents to the Ohio Department of Commerce, Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing.
Does Ohio Require Post-Licensing Education?
No later than 12 months after licensure, broker licensees are required to submit proof that you have completed 20 hours of education. For more information about the post-licensing education course, you can visit https://www.com.ohio.gov/documents/real_20hrcourse.pdf
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Ohio Real Estate Commission
77 South High Street, 20th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215-6133