North Carolina State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 75 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools North Carolina Course Hours Offered: 75 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the North Carolina Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must be a legal US citizen
- You must have a Social Security Number (SSN)
Step 2: Complete the required 75-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 72% or higher.
Step 4: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Obtain a sponsoring broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 6: Submit your application for a North Carolina real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by NCREC.
Step 7: Complete at least one post-licensing course in each of the first three years following initial licensure.
Note: All applicants must complete the online application with the NCREC and be found qualified to take the license exam. Visit https://www.ncrec.gov/Licensing/ApplyLicense to complete online application.
How Long Does It Take to Get a North Carolina Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete the required 75 hours of pre-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing exam as well as completing the application process, fingerprinting process, obtaining a sponsoring broker and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in North Carolina?
All courses are approved by North Carolina Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the North Carolina Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by North Carolina state) to finish the required 75 hours.
The required courses within the 75 hours include:
- Fundamentals Of Real Estate
- Principles Of Real Estate
- Business And Real Estate Law
- Property Management
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in North Carolina?
Becoming a real estate agent in North Carolina requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $800.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fees run $64.
- License fees for an agent cost $100.
- Required fingerprints will cost $30.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Currently, the state of North Carolina has reciprocity agreements in place with multiple states.
- South Carolina
- West Virginia
Note: If hold a current real estate license in another jurisdiction that is equivalent to NC’s provisional broker license and that has been on active status within the previous three years, you will be required to meet the below.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- Submit an application.
- Provide evidence of completing the criminal background check.
- Provide certification(s) of licensure from your respective jurisdictions.
- Submit proof of paying the application fee.
- Pass the State portion of the license examination.
You will be issued a provisional Broker License and be subject to the post-licensing education requirement.
How Do I Apply for The North Carolina Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam?
The state licensing exam is administered by PSI at one of PSI’s testing centers.
You can make your exam appointment online through PSI website or by phone at 800-733-9267
The state requires that you achieve a score of 72% or higher to pass.
Note: Fees paid to the LREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI. Commission determines applicant's eligibility for licensing exam. Once applicant is deemed qualified, Commission sends a "Notice of Examination Eligibility" which is good for 180 days.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. You must submit a criminal record report, which was generated within 6 months of filing your license application.
A criminal record report must be obtained from CriminalRecordCheck.com. The cost of the report varies depending on the location.
How Do I Take the North Carolina Broker Licensing Exam?
The North Carolina Real Estate Broker Exam is divided into two parts:
- Part 1: National Exam which consists of 80 multiple-choice questions with a time limit of 120 minutes. You must answer at least 57 out of the 80 questions correctly to pass.
- Part 2: State Exam portion which consists of 40 multiple-choice questions with a time limit of 90 minutes. You must answer at least 29 out of 40 questions correctly to pass
You must successfully pass both portions of the exam within 180 days. If you do not pass both portions, you must reapply to take the exam and pass both portions within the subsequent 180-day exam eligibility period.
Broker licensing exams in North Carolina are administered by PSI exams at PSI but before registering, the commission must deem you eligible for licensing exam. Once applicant is deemed qualified, Commission sends a "Notice of Examination Eligibility" which is good for 180 days.
How Do I Submit My North Carolina Broker License Application?
You must submit your application and fee and required documentation to state prior to attempting to schedule exam with testing provider. Once your application is processed, the Commission will email you a Notice of Exam Eligibility within 2-3 days. You can apply online at www.ncrec.gov/
Can you apply for North Carolina Real Estate License Online?
Yes, you can apply online at www.ncrec.gov/
North Carolina Real Estate License Renewal
Licensees must complete 8 hours per annual license period.
The required courses within the 8 hours include:
- General Update Course (4 credit hours) or the
- Broker-in Charge Update Course (4 credit hours), plus one
- 4-hour Commission approved elective course
You can renew your license online at the North Carolina Real Estate Commission website. The renewal fee is $45.
Does North Carolina Require Post-Licensing Education?
Brokers must complete all three post-licensing courses within 18 months of initial licensure to retain eligibility. You must also complete 90 hours of education and the final exams.
Note: Only licensed students may enroll in post licensing education courses. The required identifier (North Carolina Real Estate License) is needed to purchase these courses.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
North Carolina Real Estate Commission
1313 Navaho Drive
Raleigh, NC 27609
Regulatory Affairs: 919-719-9180