New Mexico State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 30 hours 
Agent Real Estate Schools New Mexico Course Hours Offered: 30 hours 

Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the New Mexico Real Estate Commission website. 

They include: 

  • You must be 18 years old and above 
  • You must be a legal resident of United States


Step 2: Complete the required 30-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the New Mexico Real Estate Commission. 

Step 3: Supervisory Qualifying Broker candidates must have at least 4 years active experience as a licensed associate broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of the application while Non-Supervisory Qualifying Broker candidates must have at least 2 years active experience as a licensed associate broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of the application. 

Step 4: You must attend one New Mexico Real Estate Commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing for at least 3 hours. Attendance may be by live meeting/hearing or by live or recorded distance broadcast. 

Step 5: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher. 

Step 6: You must submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check. 

Step 7: You must obtain and provide proof of Error & Omission Insurance. 

Step 8: Submit your application for a New Mexico real estate Qualifying Broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by NMREC. 

How Long Does It Take to Get a New Mexico Qualifying Broker License?

It can vary from person to depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 30 hours of pre-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, fingerprinting process, and the application processing times are also a factor. 

What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Qualifying Broker License in New Mexico?

All courses are approved by New Mexico Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the New Mexico Qualifying Broker Licensing Exam. 
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of within a year prior to application to take the Broker’s exam (as required by New Mexico state) to finish the required 30 hours.  
The 30 hour covers topic on Brokerage Office Administration Course. You must complete 8 hours understanding and using RANM forms and complete 8 hours of Core CE electives. 

How Much Does It Cost to Get a Qualifying Broker License in New Mexico?

Becoming a Qualifying Broker in New Mexico requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $950. 
How these costs break down:  

  • Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.  
  • Exam fees run $95.  
  • License fees for an agent cost $270.  
  • Required fingerprints will cost $44.  
  • E&O Insurance will cost $136 (this fee varies) 

Real Estate License Reciprocity 

Yes New Mexico has Reciprocity with select states. 

They include: 

  • Massachusetts 
  • Louisiana 
  • Georgia 


Out-of-state residents are required to: 

  • You must pass the real estate Broker's examination as required by the New Mexico Real Estate Commission. 
  • If you’re currently licensed as real estate Salesperson or Broker in other jurisdictions, you’re eligible to apply for a waiver of 60 of the 90 hours of Pre-Licensing education if you can provide a certified license history from your resident licensing jurisdiction documenting that you’ve completed “Real Estate Principals and Practice” and “Real Estate Law''. You would still be required to take a 30-hr. “Broker Basics Course” and take the State portion of the Broker examination. 
  • If you’re licensed in another state, you’ll need not less than four years’ experience as the equivalent of an Associate Broker during the 60-month period immediately preceding the filing of your application with verification in writing by your qualifying Broker(s) or the state’s applicable equivalent to a qualifying Broker As a candidate for a qualifying Broker license from another state, you will, in all circumstances, be required to fulfill all the remaining requirements, including experience, education, and acknowledgment of responsibilities. 

How Do I Apply for The New Mexico Qualifying Broker Licensing Exam?

The Qualifying Broker exam must be taken through PSI. The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. PSI will send an eligibility postcard which contains instructions on how to schedule the exam. You can schedule your exam online by visiting PSI or by calling (855) 557- 0621. 
For more Information on how to schedule the examination, you can refer to the Candidate Information Bulletin
Note: Fees paid to the NMREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI.  

How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?

As an applicant for your qualifying broker license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. To start with, you will need to register with the state Vendor website Gemalto. You’ll need the NMRC identifier number “M920263Z to register after which you will contact Cogent ID for live scan locations. The vendor must complete the fingerprint certification form as you will need it when submitting your application for licensure. 

How Do I Take the New Mexico Broker Licensing Exam?

The New Mexico Broker Licensing Exam is divided into two parts: 

  • Part 1: National Exam which has a total of 75 questions that must completed within 2 hours. 
  • Part 2: State Exam which has a total of 50 questions that must be completed within 1 hour. 


You must pass both sections of the exam, earning a score of 75% or higher. You will receive your test result immediately after completing the exam. You must bring 2 forms of identification with you to the testing center 

Note: If you fail one or both sections, you are required to retake the failed portion(s) within 90 days of your first attempt. 

How Do I Submit My New Mexico Qualifying Broker Application?

Upon passing both portions of the exam, you have 6 months to apply for your New Mexico Qualifying Broker’s License you are required to attach some other important documents. 
They include: 

  • PSI score report which shows you successfully passed the licensing exam 
  • Fingerprint certification form 
  • Proof of obtaining E&O insurance 
  • Proof of paying the nonrefundable license application fee 
  • Any supporting documents to answers as detailed in section D 

Can you apply for the New Mexico Qualifying Broker Online?

Yes, application for the Qualifying broker can be done online. After completing the licensing exam, you can access the license application form at the end of the Candidate Information Bulletin

New Mexico Qualifying Broker License Renewal

New Mexico qualifying broker licenses are good for 3 years. They must be renewed on or before the last day of licensee’s birth month. The renewal fee is $270.

For late renewals, you will be required to pay $ 810 which includes $270 renewal fee and $540 penalty. License can be renewed with a late fee up to one year. 

Does New Mexico Require Post-Licensing Education?  

New Mexico qualifying brokers who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education coursework.  

The required courses within the 36 hours include:

  • A 4-hour NMREC course to be completed annually (will need 12 hours of this course per renewal cycle) 
  • 4-hour Ethics course to be completed once during renewal perio.
  • Of the remaining 16 hours, no more than 10 hours may be earned toward the education requirements with training category courses. All 16 may be earned with education category courses. 
  • The NMREC core course requirement will apply to those licensees who have not completed the 8-hour mandatory course by December 31st, 2016.  
  • 8-hour Core Elective- to be completed during each 3-year renewal cycle. 
  • Qualifying Broker Refresher Course once during renewal cycl.
  • Attend one Commission meeting.
  • Once every renewal cycle must complete 12 hours of education in Property Management.

Special Considerations

Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate. 

You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.

New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department  
Phone : (505) 476- 4500 
2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505 
5500 San Antonio Dr Albuquerque, NM 87109