New Jersey State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 75 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools New Jersey Course Hours Offered: 75 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the New Jersey Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above.
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
- You must Possess good character, trustworthiness, honesty, and integrity.
Step 2: Complete the required 75-hour pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the New Jersey Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or high.
Step 4: You submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Obtain sponsorship from a state licensed broker. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Step 6: Submit your application for a New Jersey real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by NJREC.
How Long Does It Take to Get a New Jersey Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete the required 75 hours of pre-licensing courses but on average it takes about 3 – 4 months to complete the process. If you commit a full-time schedule to it, you may be able to complete it in 2 months. You must also pass your licensing exam as well as completing the application process, finding a sponsoring broker, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in New Jersey?
All courses are approved by New Jersey Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the New Jersey Real Estate License Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by New Jersey state) to finish the required 75 hours.
The required courses within the 75 hours include:
- License Law
- Forms of Ownership
- Landlord and Tenant
- Listing Agreements
- Ethical and Fair Housing
- NJ Real Estate
- Commission Rules
- Agency and Brokerage
- Closing of Title
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in New Jersey?
Becoming a real estate agent in New Jersey requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $870.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fees run $45
- License fees for an agent cost $160
- Required fingerprints will cost $66.05
Real Estate License Reciprocity
New Jersey does not offer reciprocity with any state. Most applicants must follow the exact same process, even if they are licensed in another state.
There are a few states that New Jersey will offer an education waiver with.
These states include:
For more information, you can contact the Commission at 609-292-7272.
Can You Apply for a New Jersey Real Estate License Online?
The simple answer is Yes. You can apply for a New Jersey real estate license online. You can fill out your application online using New Jersey’s Real Estate Licensing Services system. Please be advised that you can apply for a license through your sponsoring real estate broker.
If you don’t want to submit your application online, it is possible to fill out a paper application instead. They have a printable PDF form of the New Jersey Application Form available online.
Note: If you choose to submit a paper application, there will be a longer processing time.
How Do I Apply for The New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam?
New Jersey partners with PSI to conduct the real estate license exam. After completing the pre-licensing course with us, we’ll send your eligibility to PSI to so you can schedule your exam. You can visit PSI or call 855-579-4624 to schedule your exam. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
Note: Fees paid to the NJREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
You cannot apply to obtain a real estate real estate license in New Jersey if you have not gotten your fingerprints taken. You should get that done immediately after you pass the licensing exam.
You can start by filling out the required Universal form. After which you can schedule to get your fingerprints taken at IDEMIA.
Evidence of completion of the fingerprinting process must include:
- A copy of the applicant’s completed Universal Form.
- A copy of the payment receipt issued by IDEMIA, the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, at the time of completion of the fingerprinting.
For New Jersey non-residents, you must contact the Licensing Services Bureau, Real Estate for instructions as to the procedure you need to follow to comply with the fingerprinting requirement. Call 609-292-727 or send an email to email@example.com.
How Do I Take the New Jersey Real Estate Licensing Exam?
The New Jersey Salesperson exam consists of 110 questions in total which is worth 110 points. You will be given 4 hours to complete the exam, and you must earn a score of 70% or higher to pass the exam.
When taking the state examination, the applicant will be required to answer screening questions which is basically about their criminal histories dating within the 5 years preceding the application for licensure. You must sign a form on which you certify that your screening question answers are accurate and truthful.
Immediately after completing your exam, you will receive a scoring document that states whether you passed or failed. If it is marked “Fail,” then you will see a breakdown of your score in the different areas of the exam. If you decide to retake the exam, use this as a guide for your studies.
How Do I Submit My New Jersey Real Estate License Application?
After successful completion of the licensing exam, you can submit your Salesperson License Application. You will need to obtain supervision from a managing broker who will help you submit your application at Online Licensing Services Portal. You must give your managing broker your Applicant ID number which is found on your testing score card which indicates you passed the state exam successfully. You will need to attach some items alongside your application.
- PSI exam score report.
- Employment date indicated by employing broker.
- Completed Universal Form and receipt provided upon completion of the fingerprint process.
- Proof of payment of the application fee.
New Jersey Real Estate License Renewal
During the renewal period each real estate agent is required to complete and submit their own, individual online questionnaire as a condition of their license renewal. No paper questionnaires will be accepted. Click here for more information on the Qualifying Questionnaire.
Does New Jersey Require Post-Licensing Education?
New Jersey real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 12 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
At least 6 of the 12 credits must be obtained in courses with core topics with 2 hours of the 6 include credit hours on ethics and 1 hour in Fair Housing.
The required courses within the 12 hours include:
- Legal Issues (i.e., listing agreements, contracts, leases, attorney review)
- Ethics (2 Ethics credits mandatory)
- Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (1 Hour Fair Housing mandatory)
- New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson Statues and Regulations
- State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
- Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Recordkeeping
- Real Estate Licensee Safety
- Real Estate Financial Literacy and Planning
- Commercial Real Estate
- Property Management
- Seasonal Rentals
- Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate Timeshare Act
- Land Use
- Real Estate Valuation
- Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
- Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate Transactions
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Licensing Services Bureau, Real Estate
Address: P.O. Box 474 Trenton, NJ 08625-0474