New Jersey State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 150 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools New Jersey Course Hours Offered: 150 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the New Jersey Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent
- You must possess good character, trustworthiness, honesty, and integrity
Step 2: Complete the required 150-hour pre-licensing course for salesperson at an institution approved by the New Jersey Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Applicants must be continually licensed as a real estate salesperson for the 3 years preceding the application.
Step 4: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher.
Step 5: You submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check.
Step 6: Submit your application for a New Jersey Real Estate Broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by NJREC.
How Long Does It Take to Get a New Jersey Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete both the required 150 hours of pre-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Broker License in New Jersey?
All courses are approved by New Jersey Real Estate Commission. Once completed, you are eligible to sit for the New Jersey Real Estate License Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 12 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by New Jersey state) to finish the required 150 hours.
The required courses within the 150 hours include:
- 90-hour general real estate course
- 30-hour courses on Agency/Ethics
- 30-hour courses on Office Management and related topics
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in New Jersey?
Becoming a real broker in New Jersey requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $850.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fees may run up to$60
- License fees for an agent cost $270
- Required fingerprints will cost $66.05
Real Estate License Reciprocity
New Jersey does not offer reciprocity with any state. Most applicants must follow the exact same process, even if they are licensed in another state.
There are a few states that New Jersey will offer an education waiver with.
These states include:
For more information, you can contact the Commission at 609-292-7272.
How Do I Apply for The New Jersey Broker Licensing Exam?
New Jersey partners with PSI to conduct the Broker Licensure exam. After completing the pre-licensing course with us, we’ll send your eligibility to PSI to so you can schedule your exam. You can visit PSI or call 855-579-4624 to schedule your exam. The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass.
Note: Fees paid to the NJREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
You cannot apply to obtain a real estate broker license in New Jersey if you have not gotten your fingerprints taken. You should get that done immediately after you pass the licensing exam.
Evidence of completion of the fingerprinting process must include:
- A copy of the applicant’s completed Universal Form.
- A copy of the payment receipt issued by IDEMIA, the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, at the time of completion of the fingerprinting.
For New Jersey non-residents, you must contact the Licensing Services Bureau, Real Estate for instructions as to the procedure you need to follow to comply with the fingerprinting requirement. Call 609-292-727 or send an email to [email protected].
How Do I Take the New Jersey Broker Licensing Exam?
There are 2 parts of the New Jersey Real Estate Broker Exam:
- National part: 80 questions (answer 56 questions correctly to pass this part)
- State specific part: 30 questions (answer 21 questions correctly to pass this part)
You have 4 hours to complete both portions. You will need two forms of ID and a calculator to take the exam.
Once approved, the applicant will be mailed a Certificate of Examination Eligibility, which may be used to take the Broker Examination. The exam must be completed within one year of successful completion of their broker pre license education.
How Do I Submit My New Jersey Broker Application?
After successful completion of the licensing exam, you can submit your Broker License Application. You must allow the Real Estate Commission 30 business days to process the paperwork.
You can submit your application at Online Licensing Services Portal. You must attach your Applicant ID number which is found on your testing score card which indicates you passed the state exam successfully. You will need to attach some items alongside your application.
- PSI exam score report.
Completed Universal Form and receipt provided upon completion of the fingerprint process.
Proof of payment of the application fee.
New Jersey Broker License Renewal
During the renewal period each real estate broker is required to complete and submit their own, individual online questionnaire as a condition of their license renewal. No paper questionnaires will be accepted. Click here for more information on the Qualifying Questionnaire.
Does New Jersey Require Post-Licensing Education?
New Jersey real estate brokers who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 12 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
At least 6 of the 12 credits must be obtained in courses with core topics with 2 hours of the 6 include credit hours on ethics and 1 hour in Fair Housing.
The required courses within the 12 hours include:
- Legal Issues (i.e., listing agreements, contracts, leases, attorney review)
- Ethics (2 Ethics credits mandatory)
- Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (1 Hour Fair Housing mandatory)
- New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson Statues and Regulations
- State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
- Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Recordkeeping
- Real Estate Licensee Safety
- Real Estate Financial Literacy and Planning
- Commercial Real Estate
- Property Management
- Seasonal Rentals
- Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate Timeshare Act
- Land Use
- Real Estate Valuation
- Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
- Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate Transactions
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Licensing Services Bureau, Real Estate
Address: P.O. Box 474 Trenton, NJ 08625-0474