Nevada State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 64 semester college credit
Agent Real Estate Nevada Course Hours Offered: 64 semester college credit
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Nevada Real Estate Division website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
Step 2: You must have been actively licensed as a full-time salesperson for a least the last two of the four years preceding the application.
Step 3: You must successfully complete the required 64 college credits for broker at an institution approved by the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Step 4: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 5: Submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check.
Step 6: Submit your application for a Nevada real estate broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by NRED.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Nevada Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast you can complete the required 64 semester college credit. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Broker License in Nevada?
All courses at Agent Real Estate Schools are approved by Nevada Real Estate Division. Once completed you are eligible to sit for the Nevada Broker Licensing Exam.
The required courses within the 64-semester college credit include:
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Principles or licensed experience.
- 45 hours of 3 college credits Real Estate Law or licensed experience. (Must include 18 hours Nevada Law provided by a NV school)
- 45 hours or 3 college credits Real Estate Appraisal course or licensed experience
- 45 hours of 3 college credits Broker Management Course (Nevada specific course)
- 15 college credits in real estate, business, economics, or licensed experience.
- 15 hours or 1 college credit in contracts in real estate transaction to the extent allowed in the capacity of the licensee.
- 15 hours or 1 college credit in agency which must include 3 hours of foundation of relationship between broker and agents and 3 hours of risk reduction.
- 35 college-level units from an accredited college or licensed experience.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in Nevada?
Becoming a real estate agent in Nevada requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $685.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fees run $145 per attempt
- License fees for a broker cost $145
- Required fingerprints will cost $40.25
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Nevada offers reciprocity with select states. For those who hold a broker’s license they can put it towards a salesperson’s license in Nevada.
- West Virginia
- Rhode Island
- District of Columbia
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- Submit an original license history dated within 90 days of application submission date.
- Submit proof of Nevada state and general licensing exam passing scores within the 12 months before the application submission date.
- Submit a fingerprint verification form issued by an approved fingerprint vendor.
- Non-Nevada residents must submit the notarized “Consent to service of process.”
How Do I Apply for The Nevada Broker Licensing Exam?
Nevada has contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the exam. The exams must be done in person and are given in 3 locations by appointment only.
Exams are offered in three cities in Nevada:
- Las Vegas
To schedule your exam, visit https://home.pearsonvue.com/nv/realestate. You can also opt to schedule your exam by calling (888) 248-8055.
Note: Fees paid to the NRED do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to Pearson VUE. Exams must be done in person and given by appointment only.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate broker license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check.
You must submit the fingerprint card with a cashier’s check or money order for $40.25 made payable to the “Department of Public Safety” or a verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor. Visit here to find authorized fingerprinting vendor.
Note: Vendors may charge an additional fee for their fingerprinting services.
How Do I Take the Nevada Broker Licensing Exam?
Pearson VUE administers the Nevada broker licensing examination. You will need to visit www.pearsonvue.com/nv/realestate to make an online reservation for an examination.
The exam is in two portions:
- The National portion (80 questions must be completed within 150 minutes)
- The State portion (50 questions must be completed within 90 minutes)
Note: If you pass one portion of the exam and fail the other, you need to retake only the failed portion and it must be completed within a year.
How Do I Submit My Nevada Broker Application?
You are required to apply for your broker license within 12 months of passing the exam.
You will need Form549 to submit your application alongside some items which includes:
- Proof of pre-license education.
- Original passing score of your exam from Pearson VUE dated within the last year.
- Original Fingerprint Verification Form.
- Nonresident applicant must provide original license history form the jurisdiction they are licensed.
- Applicants are also required to complete the waiver form attached to the application.
Note: Include the $125 license application fee, payable to the Nevada Real Estate Division check or money order. Any in person credit card transactions will have a 2% convenience fee.
Nevada Broker License Renewal
Nevada real estate broker licenses are good for two years unless you are a first-time renewal, then it is only good for one year. Renewal fees will run you $235.
Find your renewal application here.
Does Nevada Require Post-Licensing Education?
Nevada real estate brokers who are renewing their licenses for the first time must complete 24 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
The required courses within the 24 hours include:
- 3 hours Agency
- 3 hours Contracts
- 3 hours Ethics
- 3 hours Law & Legislation
- 3 hours Broker Management
- 9 hours of General
Note: At least 12 of the 24 hours must be taken through classroom setting.
Nevada real estate brokers who are not renewing their licenses for the first time must complete 36 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
The required courses within the 36 hours include:
- 3 hours Agency
- 6 hours Contracts
- 3 hours Ethics
- 3 hours Law & Legislation
- 3 hours of Risk Reduction
- 6 hours Broker Management
- 12 hours of General (Business Broker permit holders must include the 3 hours of CE for permit renewal; Property Management permit holders must include 9 hours of CE for permit renewal)
Note: At least 18 of the 36 hours must be taken through classroom setting.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request as it is required by NRED.
State of Nevada Real Estate Division
Phone: (702) 486-4033
Fax: (702) 486-4275
Address: 3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350, Las Vegas, Nevada 89102