Missouri State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 48 hours + 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course
Agent Real Estate Schools Missouri Course Hours Offered: 48 hours + 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Missouri Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: Complete the required 48-hour pre-licensing course for salesperson at an institution approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: You must submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check through the IDEMIA.
Step 4: Complete application for license within six months from the date of completion of the 48-Hour Pre-Exam course.
Step 5: Pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher in the National portion and 75% or higher in the State portion.
Step 6: Provide a certificate of completion for the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course prior to submitting an application for licensure.
How Long Does It Take To Get A Missouri Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast you can complete both the required 48 hours of pre-licensing course and the 24 hours Missouri Real Estate Practice course. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, and the application and background check processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Missouri?
All courses are approved by Missouri Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Missouri real estate salesperson licensing exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by Missouri state) to finish the required 72 hours. This is broken down into 2 sections of 48 salesperson pre-exam course hours and 24 real estate practice course hours.
The required courses within the 48 hours include:
- Real Estate Law
- Types Of Interest and Ownership in Real Estate
- Home Ownership
- Legal Description
- Professional Code of Ethics & More.
Note: You must complete this aspect before you can apply to take the state licensing exam.
The required courses within the 24 hours include:
- Broker Disclosure Form
- Listing A Property
- Buyer Representation
- Acting As A Dual Agent Or Transaction Broker
- Termination Of Brokerage Relationships
- Compensation, Contracts
- Avoiding Misrepresentation & More,
Note: You must complete this aspect before you apply for your license.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Missouri?
Becoming a real estate agent in Missouri requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $800.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Application fee cost $50
- Exam fees run $65
- License fees for an agent cost $40
- Required fingerprints will cost $43.05
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Missouri does offers reciprocity with other states.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You must have a current, valid real estate license from your jurisdiction
- Completed the Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP).
- You must pass the state portion of the Missouri real estate state examination before submitting the real estate license application.
- After passing the exam, you must submit your application for licensure with six months
- You must submit a recent (less than three months old) license history from the real estate authority managing the applicant's current real estate license.
How Do I Apply for The Missouri Real Estate Licensing Exam?
Missouri partners with PSI to conduct the state licensing exam. Exams are administered throughout the state at four PSI testing centers.
Exams are offered in four cities in Missouri:
- St. Louis
- Kansas City
- Jefferson City
The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. For more information about times and locations, visit the Missouri Real Estate Commission webpage.
Note: Fees paid to the MREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI. You must pass both portions of the licensing exam within 6 months of completing the 72-hour pre-licensing course.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. You must get fingerprinted at an IDEMIA location. Prior to getting fingerprinted, you must register with the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) or by calling 1-844-543-9712. You will need to provide the MREC’s four-digit registration number, 0004, to register to be fingerprinted. This will authorize the Missouri State Highway Patrol and the FBI to send the results to the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
How Do I Take the Missouri Salesperson Licensing Exam?
The exam must be taken through www.psiexams.com. The Missouri Licensing Exam must be passed with a minimum score of 70% on the national portion and 75% on the state portion. Those who pass one portion of the examination and fail the other will need to retake only the failed portion of the exam. You must complete the 48-hour salesperson pre-licensing course before you can apply to take the state licensing exam. The 24-hour course must be completed before you apply for your license.
How Do I Submit My Missouri Salesperson Application?
You must submit your Missouri real estate salesperson license within six months of completing the 72-hour salesperson pre-licensing course. Visit Submit Application to submit your application.
Missouri Real Estate License Renewal
Missouri real estate licenses are good for two years. Each Missouri real estate license for a professional corporation (as a salesperson) or an inactive salesperson will expire on September 30 of each even-numbered year. All other real estate licenses expire on June 30 of each year that ends with an even number. Renewal fees will run you $40.
Does Missouri Require Post-Licensing Education?
Missouri real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 12 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
If you are a licensed attorney, you do not need to complete the pre-licensing course. However, you will need to pass both portions of the salesperson exam. Your application must be submitted not more than 6 months of passing the licensing examination. A copy of your current bar card must be provided with the application for licensure.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Missouri Real Estate Commission
Address: 3605 Missouri Boulevard P.O. Box 1339, Jefferson City, MO 65102