Missouri State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 48 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Missouri Course Hours Offered: 48 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Missouri Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: You must successfully complete the required 48-hour broker pre-licensing course at an institution approved by the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: Register and pass both portions of the licensing exam.
Step 4: You must submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check.
Step 5: Submit your application for a Missouri real estate Broker license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by MREC.
All applicants for a Missouri broker license must meet one of the following requirements:
- Hold a current and active Missouri salesperson license for at least 24 of the last 30 months immediately preceding the application for licensure. Provide a certificate of satisfactory completion from a 48-hour pre-licensing broker course from an accredited Missouri real estate school and pass both portions of the exam. A complete application for licensure must be submitted within 6 months of completion of the broker course.
- Hold a current and active Missouri salesperson license in another jurisdiction for at least 24 of the last 30 months immediately preceding the application for licensure. Provide a certificate of satisfactory completion from a 48-hour pre-licensing broker course from an accredited Missouri real estate school and pass both portions of the exam. A current license history issued within 3 months; from real estate commission of the state, you hold your license in must be provided with your application.
- Hold a current and active Missouri broker license in another jurisdiction for at least 24 of the last 30 months immediately preceding the application for licensure and pass both portions of the Missouri broker exam. Your application must be submitted within 6months of passing the state portion of the broker exam with a current license history within 3 months from the real estate commission of the state, you hold your license in.
- Be a licensed attorney, hold an active salesperson license and pass both portions of the Missouri broker exam. If you are unlicensed then you must first pass both portions of the Missouri salesperson exam and then pass both portions of the broker exam. A complete application for licensure must be submitted within 6 months of passing the broker exam with a current copy of your bar card.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Missouri Broker License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast you can complete the required 48 hours of pre-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, and the application and background check processing times are also a factor.
What Kind of Information Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate Broker License in Missouri?
All courses are approved by Missouri Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Missouri Salesperson Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by Missouri state) to finish the required 48 hours.
The required courses within the 48 hours include:
- Real Estate Law
- Types Of Interest and Ownership in Real Estate
- Home Ownership
- Legal Descriptions
- Listing Advertising
- Professional Code of Ethics
Note: The 48-hour broker licensing course must be completed before you can schedule and take the state licensing exam.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate Broker License in Missouri?
Becoming a real estate agent in Missouri requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $600.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $350.
- Exam fees run $62
- License fees for an agent cost $130
- Required fingerprints will cost $43.05
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Missouri offers reciprocity with other states. You will have to meet some requirements.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- Have 24 of last 30 months active salesperson or broker experience.
- Take the state portion of the Missouri broker exam
- Apply for licensure within six months of the 48-hour broker course completion date.
As an applicant you must attach a license history issued within 3 months from the real estate commission of the jurisdiction from where applying must be provided with the application for licensure.
All applicants are required to be fingerprinted for a Missouri and federal criminal history background check.
How Do I Apply for The Missouri Broker Licensing Exam?
Missouri partners with PSI to conduct the state licensing exam. Exams are administered throughout the state at four PSI testing centers.
Exams are offered in four cities in Missouri:
- St. Louis
- Kansas City
- Jefferson City
The state requires that you achieve a score of 70% or higher to pass. For more information about times and locations, visit the Missouri Real Estate Commission webpage.
Note: Fees paid to the MREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI. You must pass both portions of the licensing exam within 6 months of completing the 48-hour pre-licensing course.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. You must get fingerprinted at an IDEMIA location. Prior to getting fingerprinted, you must register with the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS) or by calling 1-844-543-9712. You will need to provide the MREC’s four-digit registration number, 0004, to register to be fingerprinted. This will authorize the Missouri State Highway Patrol and the FBI to send the results to the Missouri Real Estate Commission.
How Do I Take the Missouri Broker Licensing Exam?
The broker licensing exam must be taken through PSI. Both portions of the Missouri Broker Licensing Exam must be passed to qualify for licensure.
The National Broker Exam:
- 10 simulation problems
The State Broker Exam:
- 75 multiple choice questions
Time limit: 4 hours for the national and state specific parts or 2.5 hours for national part and 2 hours for state specific part.
Note: Those who pass one portion of the examination and fail the other, need to retake only the failed portion of the exam.
How Do I Submit My Missouri Broker Application?
You must submit your Missouri real estate salesperson license within six months of completing the 48-hour broker pre-licensing course. Visit Submit Application to submit your application.
Missouri Broker License Renewal
Missouri real estate broker licenses are good for two years. Renewal fees will run you $50.
Does Missouri Require Post-Licensing Education?
Missouri real estate agents who are renewing their licenses or filing for a late renewal must complete 12 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Missouri Real Estate Commission
Address: 3605 Missouri Boulevard P.O. Box 1339, Jefferson City, MO 65102