Kentucky State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 96 Hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Kentucky Course Hours Offered: 96 Hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Kentucky Real Estate Commission website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Step 2: Complete the required 96-hour pre-licensing course or complete 6 credit hours of real estate course for salesperson at an institution approved by the Kentucky Real Estate Commission.
Step 3: You must pass a criminal background check.
Step 4: Register and pass the licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 5: You must obtain and provide proof of Error & Omission Insurance.
Step 6: Submit your application for a Kentucky real estate license. Be sure to follow the application procedures required by KREC.
Step 7: Complete the required 48 hours of post-license courses.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Kentucky Real Estate License?
It can vary from person to person depending how fast or slow you can complete the required 96 hours of pre-licensing courses and 48 hours of post-licensing courses. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, obtaining E&O insurance, and the application processing times are also a factor.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Kentucky?
All courses are approved by Kentucky Real Estate Commission and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Kentucky Salesperson Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required by Kentucky state) to finish the required 96 hours.
The required courses within the 96 hours include:
- Real Estate Principles
- Real Estate Law
- Brokerage Management
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Marketing
- Property Management
- Real Estate Investment
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Home Inspection
- Real Estate Auction
- Construction and Blueprints
- Land Planning and Zoning
- Commercial Real Estate
- Urban Planning
- Advanced Appraisal Topics
You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance as required by the state. After passing the final course exam you will be required to sign an affidavit to verify it was you who completed the course and the final course exam.
The courses may be obtained through state certified real estate schools, approved college and universities and education completed at other licensing jurisdictions.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Kentucky?
Becoming a real estate agent in Kentucky requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend up to $980.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Exam fee will cost $100
- License Application fee will cost $120
- FBI Background check fee will cost $18
- E&O Insurance will cost $136. (This cost varies)
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Kentucky does offer reciprocity with Ohio State. However, some requirements will have to be met.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You must have an active Ohio salesperson license for at least one 12 months immediately preceding the time of application.
- You must be sponsored by a principal broker who holds a Kentucky broker license.
- You must complete the 40-hour reciprocal license law course and submit fingerprints for a national criminal records check, prior to scheduling the reciprocal license exam.
- You must complete 48 hours of post-license education courses within the first 24 months of obtaining a license.
How Do I Apply for The Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam?
Kentucky Real Estate Commission partners with PSI to conduct the state licensing exam. Before you can schedule and exam, you must have completed the required pre-licensing hours of education and completed an FBI criminal background check. You can find the testing schedule on the PSI website or the state Candidate Handbook.
You can also call 855-746-8176 if you need assistance in registering for your exam. Your school will provide need pre-license school codes which you need to schedule the exam, but you can also find them in the PSI candidate Information Bulletin.
Note: Fees paid to the KREC do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to PSI.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for your real estate license, you are required to submit fingerprints and complete a background check. For Kentucky residents, state and federal criminal background check reports must be obtained through IdentoGO© through the live scan process. Appointments are available by scheduling online or by calling 1-844-543-9714.
For non-Kentucky residents, applicants can send a hard card (FBI FD-258 applicant fingerprint card) to the IDEMIA card scan conversion facility.
For more information about the fingerprinting process, visit here.
How Do I Take the Kentucky Real Estate Licensing Exam?
Applicants must complete a criminal background check and complete the pre-licensing education hours before they can take the licensing exam. Both the National portion and state section of the Kentucky Licensing Exam must be passed with a score of 75% or higher. The national section is allocated 150 minutes to answer 80 questions while the state portion is allocated 90 minutes to answer 50 questions.
If you successfully pass the exam, you will receive your license application at the PSI testing center. If you do not pass the first time (either or both the National and state portion), you are permitted to retake the exam twice, but you must retake the failed portion(s) within 4 months. You can see the specific breakdown of questions asked by topic area in the Candidate Handbook.
Note: The state requires proctoring of your licensing exam.
How Do I Submit My Kentucky Real Estate License Application?
You must submit your license application to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission within sixty (60) days of passing your real estate exam. If you fail to meet this deadline, you will need to retake the examination and begin the process again. You can submit your application at apply for your salesperson license. You will also need to attach some documents alongside your application.
- Proof of high school diploma or its equivalent (GED).
- Official college transcript or course completion certificate.
- Proof of completing the background check.
- Proof of obtaining an Error and Omission Insurance.
- KREC will review your application and decide. Once your application is approved, you can practice as a licensed Kentucky Salesperson.
Kentucky Real Estate License Renewal
Kentucky real estate licenses are good for 1 year. Renewal fees will run you $60 annually.
Does Kentucky Require Post-Licensing Education?
A licensed salesperson shall be required to complete 48 hours of continuing education courses within 2 years of receiving their license. The 48 hours of post-licensing courses consist of 32 mandatory hours and 16 elective hours.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Kentucky Real Estate Commission
Phone: (502) 564-7760
Fax: (502) 564-1538
Toll Free: 888-373-3300
Address: 500 Mero Street, 2NE09, Frankfort, KY 40601
Kentucky License Fee Schedule