Arizona State Required Pre-Licensing Hours: 90 hours
Agent Real Estate Schools Arizona Course Hours Offered: 90 hours
Step 1: Meet the state’s requirements as outlined on the Arizona Department of Real Estate website.
- You must be 18 years old and above
- You must be a truthful, honest, worthy in character and competent applicant.
- You must not have been convicted of a felony, or convicted of a misdemeanor offense, such as (but not limited to) theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude.
- You must not have had a real estate license denied within one year, or revoked within two years immediately preceding the application
Step 2: Complete the required 90-hour pre-licensing course for salesperson at an institution approved by the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
Step 3: Submit an application for an Arizona real estate license exam and schedule your exam.
Step 4: Pass the Arizona Salesperson licensing exam by earning a score of 75% or higher.
Step 5: You must submit your fingerprints and pass a criminal background check.
Step 6: You must attend and pass a 6-hour Contract Writing Class.
Step 7: Submit your application for an Arizona real estate license.
Step 8: Obtain sponsorship from an Arizona Real Estate Broker and activate your license. Are you curious about how to choose the right broker for you?
Note: Be sure to follow instructions Arizona’s New Licensee Brochure to track your license status.
How Long Does It Take to Get an Arizona Real Estate License?
The time it can take to get your Arizona real estate license depends on how fast or slow you can complete both the required required 90 hours of pre-licensing courses and the 6-hour Contract Writing Class. You must also pass your licensing examination as well as completing the application process, obtaining sponsorship from a broker and the application and background processing times are also a factor.
What Will I Learn to Help Me Get a Real Estate License in Arizona?
All courses at are approved by Arizona Department of Real Estate and once you complete them you are eligible to sit for the Arizona Salesperson Licensing Exam.
Agent Real Estate Schools gives a window of 6 months from the start date of your courses, (as required Arizona State) to finish the required 90 hours.
The required courses within the 90 hours include:
- Property Rights – Private & Governance
- Real Estate Interest and Ownership
- Transfer of Title & Title Insurance
- Liens & Encounters
- Foreclosure – Carryback Documents & Financing
- Real Estate Investment and Taxation
- Residential Financing
- Math & Equal Opportunity
- AZ Landlord Tenant Act & Property Management
- Law of RE: Rules & Regulators of the RE Department
- REZ Brokerage: Law of Agency and Public Protection
- Real Estate Contracts
- Listings of Contract Forms and Procedures
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Legal Land Description
- Escrow and Closing
- Broker Practices, Legal Procedures & Bankruptcy
- Disclosures – Warranties, Construction, & Land Development
You are also required to take and successfully pass a 6-hour contract writing before applying for your license.
The required courses within the 6-hours include:
- 3 hours of Contract Law
- 3 Hours of Legal Issues
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Real Estate License in Arizona State?
Becoming a real estate agent in Arizona requires time and money but is very rewarding. An aspiring agent will spend approximately $750 to get their license.
How these costs break down:
- Pre-licensing exam coursework can run up to $599.
- Arizona real estate license exam fee: $75
- Salesperson original license fee: $50
- Real Estate Recovery fund: $10
- Arizona Department of Public Safety Fingerprint Clearance Card Fee: $67
You can visit License Fee Schedule for the comprehensive list of fees.
Real Estate License Reciprocity
Yes, Arizona does offer reciprocity to other states. Applicants seeking for licensure through reciprocity must meet some requirements.
Out-of-state residents are required to:
- You must live in Arizona State.
- You must be currently licensed in another Jurisdiction for at least a year.
- You must have completed the approved real estate licensing education in your Jurisdiction.
- You must have passed the real estate license examination in your state.
- You must not have had a license revoked in any state.
Note: You must have a clean criminal history.
Can You Apply for an Arizona Real Estate License Online?
You can find all Arizona real estate license pre-licensing education requirements, fees, required documents, and application steps online at www.azre.gov.
Simply fill out your license application and pay the application fees: $75 plus an additional $60 for a first-time license.
You may also be required to undergo a background check at an additional cost. Note that criminal convictions, civil judgments, or disciplinary action in Arizona or any other state may result in your license being denied.
Once submitted, your application should take 1 week to 2 months to process.
How Do I Apply for The Arizona Real Estate Licensing Exam?
Arizona partners with Pearson VUE to conduct the licensing examination. You can apply for your exam at www.pearsonvue.com/az/realestate. You can also apply for your exam by calling (888) 405-5776. Be prepared to provide to the exam administrator two forms of current signature identification, including one government issued I.D. with photo and the Salesperson Education Certificate for the 90 hours of Education. You will receive your exam results at the testing center immediately after you complete the exam. If you are successful, you will be given further instructions on how to apply for your license.
Note: Fees paid to the Commission do not include the exam fee. The exam fee must be paid separately to Pearson VUE.
How Do I Submit My Fingerprints for The Background Check?
As an applicant for a real estate license, you are required to submit your fingerprints and complete a background check. You must secure a fingerprint clearance card issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS) and submit it at the testing center Pearson VUE.
Note: The process for obtaining the Fingerprint Clearance Card may take as long as 8-10 weeks.
How Do I Take the Arizona Real Estate Licensing Examination?
The Arizona Salesperson Licensing Exam is divided into two portions:
- The General Portion
- The State Portion
Broker licensing exams in Arizona are administered by www.pearsonvue.com/az/realestate but before registering, you must first receive an eligibility notice from the Arizona Department of Real Estate. You get this by submitting a Real Estate License application and proof of meeting all the requirements within one year of passing the licensing examination.
How Do I Submit My Arizona Real Estate License Application?
You will receive Arizona real estate license application instructions from Pearson VUE after passing the exam. You must submit your application 12 months from the date you pass the licensing exam. You must attach some documents alongside your application.
- These include:
- Disclosure Document Checklist Form (L I-400)
- Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form ( L I 214/244)
- Proof of a legal presence in the U.S
- Original Salesperson License Application and Fee
- Original Arizona Exam Score Report
- Pre-Licensure Education Certificate- the 90-hour certificate.
- DPS issued Arizona Fingerprint Clearance Card
- Contract Writing Course Certificate
Note: You must have hired a sponsoring Broker at time of application. The Designated Broker must access the ADRE online system to approve the hire prior to the licensee being legal to work.
Arizona Real Estate License Renewal
Arizona real estate licenses are good for two years. Renewal fees will run you $125. To see the most up to date costs, click here.
Does Arizona Require Post-Licensing Education?
Arizona real estate agents who are renewing their licenses must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education coursework.
The required courses within the 24 hours include:
- Agency (3 hours)
- Commissioner’s Standards (3 hours)
- Contract Law (3 hours)
- Disclosure (3 hours)
- Fair Housing (3 hours)
- Real Estate Legal Issues (3 hours)
- General (6 hours)
Note: If you are applying for license renewal within one year after your license expires, enter only CE credits earned during the prior 24 months.
Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, you will be provided an electronic certificate of completion which can be found in the “my courses” tab in your student portal. Next to each completed course you will find an icon for the course completion certificate.
You will be required to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.
Arizona Department of Real Estate
100 N 15th Ave #201
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone Number: 602-771-7760