12/16/2021 - California / Michigan

Real Estate License Reciprocity: How to Transfer Real Estate License to Another State

Written by Tessa Sims

If you are considering relocating to another state, you may be wondering what that means for your real estate license. Depending on where you are moving and where you got your real estate license, different procedures and requirements are involved. This guide will help you transfer your real estate license to a different state. 

The real estate industry tends to be state-specific. Each state has different laws regarding licensing standards. When you move states, you need to learn that state’s unique real estate and property laws to obtain a new license for that state. 

You do not necessarily need to start from scratch. Most US states offer partial or full “license reciprocity.” That means you can apply for a new real estate license in your new state without having to start over with pre-licensing courses. 

For example, license reciprocity is available to realtors from all other states in Arizona. A qualifying agent with an out-of-state real estate license can take the Arizona state licensing test to receive the Arizona real estate license.

Although a few states like Arizona offer full reciprocity, other states are slightly more complicated. Some states do not offer real estate reciprocity, and others have partial reciprocity with additional requirements. For example, in Texas, you must finish all the required pre-licensing courses and pass the TREC test in its entirety, even if you already have a license in another state.

States With Partial Real Estate License Reciprocity

Partial reciprocity regulations are unique in each state. Typically, states with partial reciprocity have licensing agreements with some states but not others. Some states only provide reciprocity to jurisdictions with relatively similar real estate laws.  

Below is a list of 23 states with partial license reciprocity:

  1. Arkansas
  2. Connecticut
  3. Florida
  4. Illinois
  5. Iowa
  6. Kentucky
  7. Louisiana
  8. Maryland
  9. Massachusetts
  10. Minnesota
  11. Nevada
  12. New Hampshire
  13. New Jersey
  14. New York
  15. North Carolina
  16. North Dakota
  17. Ohio
  18. Oregon
  19. Pennsylvania
  20. Rhode Island
  21. Utah
  22. West Virginia
  23. Wisconsin

State real estate reciprocity agreements change frequently, so checking the current state regulations is always advisable.

Even if your new state offers real estate license reciprocity to your current state, you will still need to complete a few requirements to apply for your reciprocal license in your new state. You may also need to complete your target state’s portion of the real estate examinations. 

When applying for reciprocity, ensure your current license has been valid for the minimum required timespan. If anything is preventing you from becoming a licensed agent, take care of it before applying.

States With No Real Estate License Reciprocity

If you relocate to a state that does not recognize your current real estate license, you must start with the entire education and licensure procedures. Fortunately, you can fly through a lot of the course content quickly. You will also receive a refresher on some of the issues you may not regularly come across on the job.

Some states do not have reciprocity for real estate licenses from other states, including:

  1. Alaska
  2. California
  3. Hawaii
  4. Idaho
  5. Indiana
  6. Kansas
  7. Maine
  8. Michigan
  9. Mississippi
  10. Nebraska
  11. Oklahoma
  12. South Dakota
  13. Tennessee
  14. Texas
  15. Vermont
  16. Washington

States without reciprocity agreements may still offer application processes for transferring your real estate license. Typically, these applications are reviewed on a case-by-case basis and may require additional documentation, proof of insurance, and a licensure history. The approval usually depends on your status as a resident or non-resident in the state where you want to transfer your real estate license.

States With Full Real Estate License Reciprocity

Anyone having a current real estate license in any other US state can skip the general real estate courses in full license reciprocity jurisdictions. You can skip the classes you have already attended and concentrate on studying state-specific legislation.

After passing the state-specific portion of the real estate exam, you can get your new real estate license. States with full license reciprocity include:

  1. Alabama
  2. Arizona
  3. Colorado
  4. Delaware
  5. Georgia
  6. Missouri
  7. Montana
  8. New Mexico
  9. South Carolina
  10. Virginia
  11. Washington DC
  12. Wyoming

There are a couple of fair exceptions. First, you must have a valid real estate license in your current state. If your license has lapsed, you need to renew it before filing for reciprocity. You must also be in “good standing” in your present state.

Final Thoughts

Get the support, education, and resources you need to launch your real estate career in a new state at Agent Real Estate Schools. A professional real estate school can help you streamline the processes to transfer your real estate license to another state. Our fast-track programs guide you through every step of the licensing process.

Contact Agent Real Estate Schools today or call us at 858-704-2700 for more information.

Ready to Learn More? 

If you’re already a licensed agent and ready to take your career to the next level, check out our self-paced broker license program. Not yet licensed, but thinking about becoming a real estate salesperson? Find out more by attending our free Career Day event, or try a free class with us! To find out more about becoming a real estate agent, contact Agent Real Estate Schools. Reach us at (858) 329-0999 or email us at hello@agentrealestateschools.com.